We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Newlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This B&B was the first we stayed at in a string of several B&B's, and it set the bar very very high!
Mairead and Jimmy greeted us when we arrived, and were so warm and inviting. They gave us great advice about where to eat dinner, and what kinds of things to see while we were staying in Kilkenny. There was tea and biscuits/scones/and other yummy things to be consumed in the guest lounge. We spent a good hour or so luxuriating in the lounge on the couch in the sun over looking the backyard gardens. It was really really lovely.
Our room was huge, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a great shower, and toiletries were available should you need them. Oh and breakfast was aaaaaaaaammmmaaazzzzzziiinnnggggg. Breakfast kept me going way into the afternoon. I loved Mairead's scones so much that I asked for the recipe, and she sent it to me when I got home. I also loved the multi-seed porridge, which she also gave me the name of. We really adored this B&B and would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We hadn't intended to visit Kilkenny, thank goodness we changed our GPS coordinates and steered our vehicle to this beautiful town on the Irish map. And so we found our resting spot for the night at Newlands Lodge - what a treat! Our hosts were lovely and made us feel at home straight away. Their home is beautiful and wonderfully appointed, with every need of a weary visitor catered for. Our room was huge, our bed so comfortable and bathroom luxurious and how lovely we could see and hear cows in the paddock next door. Mairead and Jimmy were the perfect hosts and gave us the great heads up that The Kilkennys would be playing at Matt the Millers Pub that night, it was an Irish highlight! Breakfast was sumptuous and we were able to have great conversation with the other guests - we were sorry that we had only one night here! We highly recommend this B&B to all and thank our hosts again for a great stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motoloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 days in May this year, along with my son, a student of 23 whose just finished his degree in Galway. The room was spotless, and spacious with ample storage for clothes and suits, etc. The en-suite was bright and roomy and had a piping hot power shower, and with more clean white towels than we ever likely to need. Downstairs there is a very large comfortable lounge to use with numerous reading material and papers available, and with wifi always on, plus tea, coffee, biscuits, etc.
Breakfast is served between 8 and 9.30, and was superb with a varied choice suitable for all diets from the traditional Irish to cereals to home baked scones, etc.
Kilkenny city is less than 10 minutes away by car. The lodge is set in beautiful peaceful surroundings and a good night's sleep is more or less guaranteed.
Mairead and Jimmy pride themselves in providing a personal service to their guests and it shows here, and this is, without doubt, one of the finest B and B's I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MervynLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We should have saved this B&B till last as it set a very high standard against which to judge the other places that we stayed. Everything about this place is quality and the hosts are outstanding. Overall it felt more like hotel quality with a very personal touch. We loved it here.

The bedroom was very large and the en-suite equally so. The bed was very comfortable. The shower cubicle was large and had a good water pressure. The towels provided were huge and there were plenty of toiletries. The bed linens were very good quality as was the whole of the property. A back-up oiled-filled electric heater was provided in the bedroom. Everything was very clean. It has timber floors throughout. There is a very large lounge with comfortable seating and plenty of guide books. (It must be a great room in the winter with a huge log/peat fire in the grate!) The breakfast room was large and very light, overlooking the garden through the large conservatory.

Tea, coffee, cakes and biscuits were available in the lounge. Breakfast was excellent - fresh scones and home-made and local preserves. Breakfast options were very varied ... our favourite was scrambled egg with smoked salmon. I did try the full Irish one-day ... very nice but, it's big! Tea was provided in a big teapot and food was served on locally crafted pottery.

Our hosts Mairead and Jimmy were both very welcoming and provided great info on local sites and restaurants. Should we be in, they would pop into the lounge in the evening to check if we needed anything. There was plenty of parking on-site. The view from our room was very pleasant - across the countryside. WiFi seemed to work throughout the house and was very quick.

The property is located about 5km to the south of Kilkenny and we found it easy to get in and out of the town. (Mairead provided great advice on parking.) The location is also very useful for reaching other places of interest in the surrounding area, i.e. you don't have to go through central Kilkenny. We much prefer to stay in the quiet of the countryside but with easy access to the town. This was just right for us.

There are also a few 'extras' provided ... in addition to the fresh scones at breakfast, there are chocs on the pillow at night. Nice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here May 9th - our first night of a 11 day tour of Ireland. Mairead and Jimmy were wonderful hosts. The rooms were spacious and well laid out, including the sitting and dining room. Full Irish breakfast was excellent! Thank you to our gracious host for a first class experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this lovely B&B. Our room was very large and beautifully decorated. We were welcomed very warmly by Mairead. Tea,biscuits, brochures and books galore in the lounge. She offered suggestions for restaurants, directions and anything else we needed.

Had a wonderful quiet night in a comfortable huge bed. A breakfast menu was offered for a hot meal with cereals, yogurt available for self serve. Home made scones were wonderful!

Mairead made us feel very comfortable during our short stay. We met Jimmy on our way out...and can see why the two of them run such a lovely B&B.

Short drive to the town centre.
Would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennedy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in several B&Bs across Ireland, and as this was the first of many, I had no idea how it would compare. I was blown away by Mairead and Jimmy's warmth and hospitality, from the second we arrived to our departure! They made sure every detail of our stay was attended to - offering recommendations for things to do/eat in Kilkenny, leaving chocolates on the pillows, and preparing two of the best breakfasts we had! Mairead even shared one of her recipes with me, which was so generous, and allows me to make a piece of Ireland whenever I want. Also, there was always food in the sitting room, which was a welcome treat after a long day away. Overall, no complaints about this wonderful B&B, which ended up being the standard against which we compared all the other B&Bs to, and it always came out on top!

P.S. If you like cats, be sure to ask if Bridie is around!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,012 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing