We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newlands Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our favourite B & B during our whole trip traveliing around Ireland. Rooms are large and clean and even though there were 3 of us sharing a room we had plenty of space. Mairead and Jimmy were wonderful hosts and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.The breakfast was amazing outstanding food and all the extra treats, cake on arrival and the temptation of chocolate and biscuites left out for us with our drinks was a lovely touch. We will definitely be recommending this place to any of our friends visiting the Kilkenny area and should we ever be fortunate enough to be back that way we would love to go back again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
255
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent 2 nights in Kilkenny at Newlands Lodge 2 weeks ago with my 2 adult children. It was everyone's favorite B&B of our trip! The rooms were big and comfortable, the food excellent and the family gathering area so inviting. Mairead and Jimmy made us feel instantly welcome and helped with our planning. Kilkenny was a lovely town and we enjoyed a bike sightseeing tour of the town very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronxville,ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Out of all the B&B's that we stayed during our trip to Ireland (3 in total) , I can say this was the best of all. The house was clean and cozy. I wish we could have stayed there longer. Mairead and Jimmy were great with providing information regarding the town and were also very hospitable. The breakfast was incredible with homemade bread and scones. The surrounding area of the house is very serene and peaceful with beautiful views. The House is right outside of the town but the short drive is well worth it. The drive is about 5-10 minutes. I would definitely recommend this place and if I ever were to go back I will not look elsewhere... the experience was lovely and a memorable one!!!!

Room Tip: The room to the right as you go up the stairs to the top floor has the best view!!! it was four of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Newlands Lodge for one night of our trip. Now I wish we had stayed more! Mairead and Jimmy are the owners and they were some of the nicest and most helpful people we met on our trip. We were offered homemade bread and tea immediately after our arrival and enjoyed relaxing in the sitting room while we looked through the information Mairead provided on local restaurants and attractions. Her recommendation for a restaurant in Kilkenny was perfect. Our room was a triple and it was so beautiful and clean- we even had little chocolates and bottles of water by our bed. The ensuite bathroom was also very clean and larger than most we saw at other places. We had my 8 year old daughter with us and she loved it too. The location was great because it was close to town, but secluded so there was no traffic and noise at night. The breakfast had good variety and tasted delicious. We used this as our gold standard for B&B's for the remainder of our trip and would definitely love to go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKAGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells River, Vermont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Absolutely loved this house of Jimmy and Mairead. Special attention to our needs like having bottled water available in our room every day to take with us on our journeys and chocolate too! as well as robes and an iron and ironing board. This B&B was on a nice quiet road and our room looked out over the garden which was beautiful to wake up to every morning. It always smelled of home baking. Mairead and Jim were great hosts - always nice to chat with and they had loads of information for us regarding local spots to check out. Thank you so much for having us as guests in your home - I hope one day to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy31359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Currently at Newlands. Jimmy and Mairead are amazing hosts, They are both extremely helpful and willing to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are very large and the beds comfortable. Big ensuite bathroom as well! As mentioned by others, incredible breakfast. Homemade bread and scones and choices of hot breakfast! Lovely home and a lovely couple. Would not hesitate on coming to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This year we decided to stay two nights at Newlands Lodge after a very good experience for one night last year. After this stay I can fairly say that this is one of the very best B & B's in Ireland, if not the best. Everything is perfect, from much needed assistance with the bags and welcoming tea by Jimmy to the wonderful breakfast and conversation from Mairead. The downstairs sitting room is a perfect place for tea and browsing the books on display. The rooms are large, very clean and every needed convenience is at hand. Located in the country, it is a very pleasant drive to Kilkinny. In the other direction it is only a short drive to Kells Priory and a little further to a rarely visited castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
7.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.9 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Property: Newlands Lodge
Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing