We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Troysgate House

Troysgate House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Troysgate House
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Myself and 3 male friends stayed here on a weekend in early July 2007. The room I stayed in had wallpaper peeling off the walls, had no tv remote control, no plug for the sink. The sink itself had numerous cracks. The water in the shower was scalding hot. Our beds weren't made and the bins weren't changed during our two night stay.

Also our friends who stayed in another room found a strange guy in one of their beds when we got home. Someone working in the hotel had let him into the wrong room.

We'd have liked to complain but there was no one there at check out time, judging by the other reviews they obviously don't want to take the flak.

I've been to Kilkenny many times over the years and this is by far the worst place i've stayed in, in fact not just Kilkenny but anywhere.

Avoid at all costs.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    2
    5
    37
See reviews for
4
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

I stayed here with sone friends last year for a Hen Night and I agree totally with the other reviews - IT IS A DISASTER ZONE.. The place is filthy, staff are rude, the fire detector in our room was disconnected, the room keys did not work and we were given a master key to let ourselves in.

No choice for breakfast the next morning, one of the party was pregnant and asked for just beans on toast and was told no, then she asked for scrambled egg and was told no, then asked for any juice besides orange and guess what she was told no.

As for the car park, there are a few spaces down the narrowest lane I ever drove down, not for the faint hearted or those driving a new car.

It isnot the cheapest but certainly the worst ever. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedup-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2006

Do not book into this B&B, the owner does not care about running a good establishment. She does not clean the rooms properly (my shower was blocked from hair), she does not provide proper training to her staff (some nice Eastern European girls who obviously were not instructed about serving Irish breakfasts), she does not care about hygiene. The breakfast was inedible, the food was either off, cold or burnt. There is no car park at the B&B as advertised on the website, the owner directs you to a carpark across the road where your car is in danger of being clamped. When this was pointed out she said that no one had been clamped before. She obviously does good business as an extension was being built when I stayed there in June 2006. The carpets were not cleaned after the builders walked on them. The door keys do not always work so there is a chance of being locked out of your room. Also she sometimes gives out master keys so another guest can easily gain access to your room if given one!
Avoid at all costs.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid at all costs
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wickla_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

This place is a health hazzard. It is filthy dirty, the toliets look like they have never been cleaned. When our party complained about the state of the place the lady behind the desk simply said ''im sick of all these people complaining all day''. The building itself is in serious need of some work the floors are not even level.
We did not have any simple facilities like hot running water, never mind the ones they advertised such as tea/coffee making facilities.
This place is in dire need of a visit from the health inspector!

  • Liked — I could leave when i wanted
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

DO not stay here! We checked in on a Thursday and given our room key at reception. As there is a restaraunt and bar attached we did not think we would have any problems gaining access, nor were we given a key for the outside door. We got back from our night out to find we could not get in, and there was no night porter! The next day we were informed that we should ahve been given a key (we had spent the night on the floor of the groom's house- we were attending the wedding the next day!).

Nearly the worst bit was that I had to chase them for about a month afterwards to get a refund, they did not return my messages e-mails. when I finally spoke to them, they gave me just the bare amount that the room cost, with no apology and no extra refund for the (major) inconvenience.

If you fancy extensive walks around Kilkenny in the moonlight, stay here, but if you want a bed for the night, spend your money elsewhere!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — really bad service and really bad after service- they sisn't care how we felt once we had left
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fernga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2006

Dreadful, dirty, smelly and surely a health hazard! How these people can get away with it is beyond me. Recently booked a two night stay and when we saw (and smelt) the room we turned on our heels and left. We thankfully found a room in the River Court Hotel and it was beautiful for not much more money than this hovel was going to be charging. A definate no no!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go.....
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank honest3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

this so called 'luxury' hotel is basically a hostel,...but without the grandeur!!! our group stayed for the weekend and the fact that there were plenty of us to laugh at our different experiences of imcompetence and bad service made up for it somewhat. but had i been there for a romantic weekend away or was a visitor from abroad, i would have been disgusted. how is this place allowed to remain open, apart from being filthy the health and safety people would have a field day. the banisters on the stairs have a life of their own. the window in our room opened wide to a sheer drop below. it was like staying in a hotel in one of those cheap horror movies, reception was usually deserted and when you looked for someone via the bar, they would claim that the bar was separate from the hotel so they couldn't help but they would find someone for you....then someone who you just five minutes before saw working in the bar, would come and deal with you, but would always look at you like you were asking them something that they had never anticipated, such as, 'any chance of a roll of toilet paper, or a new towel!!!!
Breakfast was an experience in itself, grotty room. no english speaking staff, nice girls but might as well have been the owners niece helping out for the morning, toast 15 mins b4 tea, tea is hot tap water rather than boiling, fry came 45 mins after ordering and they was only 3 of us there at the time. ensuite tiny, shower grubby, beds are all mismatched and tatty, look like they were rescued off a skip. if you want a bed for the night, its fine you basically have the run of the place cause you won't see a staff member from when you pay until you leave, it's like the marie celeste. if you're looking to be even slightly impressed run as fast as you can in the opposite direction, anyone that wants to experience living in a squat, head for troysgate house.

  • Liked — a bed for the night
  • Disliked — very grotty
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own toilet roll, and towels, and breakfast and.......!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taffffffy2h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troysgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troysgate House

Property: Troysgate House
Address: Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Troysgate House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troysgate House was built in the mid sixteen century. Originally the home of the Town Sergeant it also housed the city jail. In the mid 1800's part of the premises was licensed for the sale of alcohol and a lodging house, making it one of Kilkenny's oldest inns in the truly traditional sense of the word. In recent times the premises has Ben renovated and modernised providing 23 ensuite bedrooms, while taking great care not to deprive the building of its unique and historic features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Troysgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troysgate Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing