We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Really nice modern hotel, close to everything in Kilkenny. Great reception staff and service. We had a castle view room and it was roomy and plainly decorated.

Good enough breakfast. It was self service which I am not keen on.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback. As you can see we pride ourselves on our service. We hope to see you back again soon.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    524
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
224
955
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed in the Pembroke. Staff very friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Food excellent. Great central location close to the castle and other attractions. Cat laugh festival was on. Had a great night out at a comedy show. Will return. All rooms non smoking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your experience of the Kilkenny Cat Laughs Comedy Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Great location right in the heart of the city,friendly staff,beautiful room...simply couldn't ask for more...back in Kilkenny in August,already know where I'm staying.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rotstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel is in the centre of Kilkenny and within a short walk of everything. We booked through Booking.com and had a good price. The rooms were of a high standard as was the breakfast.. Parking is available on site. Staff are helpful and friendly. If you want to eat out try the Sol restaurant up a side street. Well worth finding.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Thank you for you lovely comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Comfortable, nice and friendly hotel. The room was lovely and clean. The hotel had an excellent location right in the centre of Kilkenny. The breakfast was really nice. I made a mistake with my booking and the manager Paul Broderick was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyteacher085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was my plesure to assist you. Hope to see you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I travelled to Kilkenny City on Business last week and needed somewhere that was central so it was the perfect choice. It is situated right in the city centre with free parking and free WIFI. I found the staff and service to be of a very high standard.
The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable and the food was excellent.
The adjoining business centre was perfect for us and the right size as they have 4 different size meeting rooms to cater for all and are very well equipped.
I will definitely be returning to the Pembroke on my next visit to Kilkenny with either Business or Pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coletteryan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here for four days, it was an anniversary present for my partner. On arrival we had to wait at the reception for a while, we heard the two receptionist having a great conversation behind a screen. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Location was great and the food was nice enough but menu didn't change for the four days that we were there. The staff were a mix the evening staff were nice friendly, the morning staff were AWFUL!!! Too concerned with what happened on their night out, had to ask FOUR times for a pot of tea!! Breakfast was basic. The staff here really let the place down!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashes0F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Many thanks for your response. Just to advise that since your stay last year we have a total new team in place and now strive to put enhanced emphasis on all aspects of customer service. I am sorry that the breakfast staff failed to please during your stay but am confident that you would be very happy now with our service should you decide to make a return trip.
Hoping that you will visit us again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing