We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, & a nice hotel too!”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, & a nice hotel too!”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We only stayed here for one night, but could have easily stayed for longer. The hotel is very central with friendly staff. Our room was large, clean, quiet & very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious too!
Kilkenny is a great place - genuinely friendly locals, & lots going on. I can see why people choose here for their Stag/Hen dos. We went to the "City bar & grill" next to the Hibernian Hotel, & the food was delicious. The bars were good too for enjoying the "craic". The quirkiest was one that looks like a sweet shop at the front, but there's a really nice bar behind it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    529
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
228
965
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

A lovely modern hotel, with large rooms in the heart of Kilkenny. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was very clean & well maintained.

Breakfast is buffet style and fresh - cereals, juice,breads,pastries,hot selection of eggs scrambled,fried or poached, mushrooms, tomato, black & white pudding, beans, rashers & sausages. A previous reviewer complained about having to toast their own bread - I disagree as I'm sure half the toast other hotels deliver to a table is wasted.

It's only a short walk to Kilkenny Castle and plenty of bars & restaurants. The bar in the hotel serves nice sandwiches as well.

There is ample free parking.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and there was noise from a smoking area so for a better night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The front desk staff were so genuinely friendly and welcoming. Thiw was the case from check-in and check-out and every time in between! Our group had four rooms reserved, and we arrived at the Pembroke much earlier than check-in, and the staff at the front desk was able to give us one room and we were all able to store our luggage and freshen up after a long flight and drive. The front desk staff were very interested to hear what we had planned while in Kilkenny and the rest of our trip in Ireland. They made recommendations on what to see and provided us with restaurant ideas and a street map.

Our room was CLEAN, nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style and was very good! The location of the hotel was perfect for exploring the city.

I truly cannot wait to return to the Pembroke and spend more time there and in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Quite a nice hotel but let down by poor service. At breakfast i don't expect to have to toast my own bread in a 4 star and would prefer table service. Very slow bar service and no dressing gowns in our room despite being advertised.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robesonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern NC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My best friend and I (both grandmas in our 50's), took our first trip to Ireland and stayed here on our second night. We thought Kilkenny would be a too quiet little town and we wouldn't have much to do. We were so wrong! At our first glance, this hotel seemed very small and quaint. Again, we were mistaken. The room was great, the bed was so comfortable. We had a view of some towers from our bedroom window and we happened to notice when the sun was setting, the towers were transformed and we got the most fantastic pictures. We were within walking distance (even for us old ladies) of so many interesting places. We visited the castle, got great pictures there, had lunch at the Design Centre (or whatever it's called), which was awesome, went into so many neat little shops, all just a few blocks from Pembroke Hotel. Our breakfast at Pembroke the next morning was very good. Also, my friend fell and broke her glasses and the front desk staff at Pembroke were so concerned. They wanted to call for medical help, which we really didn't need, and directed us to a local shop to get her glasses replaced, and offered to call to another shop if we needed to. The customer service here was great. This hotel was one of our favorites. And out of the seven hotels we stayed at, this was the only one that had washcloths. We would highly recommend Pembroke Hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a good view if you want to take some memorable pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Pembroke is a lovely hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. The bed was real comfy but my room which overlooked Patrick Street was a bit noisy. I would return but I would request a room at a different or quieter location of the hotel. Contintenal breakfast was very good and staff were helpful and friendly. After checkout, I was due to spend a few hours in the City and when I enquired from the receptionist, about my best option for parking, she kindly suggested that I could remain in the hotel carpark. This was a really nice touch which I appreciated - well done to the Pembroke

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking Patrick Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary10092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

After staying in a run-down Georgian in Dublin with no lift our first night in Ireland, we were thrilled to stay at Pembroke!

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in an excellent location! I liked being just past the bridge because it's a little less busy on the street near the Pembroke, but it just takes a few minutes walking to be right in the heart of the action. The staff was accommodating and friendly, although we didn't solicit much help from them because everything was just right.

We were lucky to have a view of Kilkenny Castle from our room, which was spacious and beautifully decorated.

If I remember correctly, we paid just a little bit more for our room at the Pembroke than we did for all others during our stay in Ireland, but it's TOTALLY worth it! This place is great!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing