We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“higher end luxury for a great price...modern and clean”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

A great modern hotel in the heart of Kilkenny city. updated, clean and a close walk to everything! Breakfast was excellent and the girls at the front desk were very helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clynmry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Great review, thank you very much.

We are blessed by the customer service our front desk team have and the commitment they have in providing the best customer service possible. Our Front desk Manager is second to none and shows in the team.

We are also blessed by our unrivaled location. Thank you again for your comments.

We hope to see you again.

warm regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
There are newer reviews for Pembroke Kilkenny
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

I really enjoy a modern hotel which the describes the rooms in the hotel.

Other hotel choices in Kilkenny appeared more traditional. This one stood out.

Comfortable rooms an a great breakfast.

We were in danger of not having space in the parking lot but that might be true for all hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your recent experiences.

The hotel is Kilkennys newest Hotel with all the modern amenities to match. I am glad you appreciated all we had to offer.

In relation to parking we have over 100 spaces for our guests and we always guarantee a complimentary secure space.

We hope to see you again.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I booked this hotel on a great deal for 3 night B&B and one evening meal - when we walked in the door we were given a very warm welcome by Lorraine - our room like the rest of this hotel is spotless I have never seen a hotel so clean ( all the cleaners would greet you and smile ) - the others on the front desk like Lucy were all very helpful the 4 days we were in Kilkenny - the evening meal was on our last night and was excellent and would have eaten more in house if we had known just how good the food and service ( Sean ) was - the girls who looked after us at breakfast with the best coffee in town and top fry's one of them was yet another Lorraine were very good and welcoming first thing in the morning - its location is right in the centre and walking distance from everything - I could not fault one thing here in fact they excelled in every thing they did - if you like Indian food next door is Royal Spice (great recommendation from the front desk) we had a wonderful meal in a fantastic atmosphere.

we did enjoy our stay and we will be back -

Room Tip: our room over looked Kilkenny Castle
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Dublin_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Lovely trendy hotel for a short break. Very near lots of restaurants and bars.
We stayed for 2 nights in a good size family room with 2 small kids and we all really enjoyed it.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Food was good.
Lack of a pool can be a drawback with small kids but we kept them entertained by visiting Kilkenny Castle, Castlecomer Discover Park and the Reptile Zoo in Gowran.
I would have no hesitation in recommending to a couple for a nice getaway and for families who don't mind not having a pool.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We reserved two rooms to accommodate two grandparents, one daughter, and two grandchildren, all aged 65 to 12, and all girls. The hotel was superb, the rooms very modern, clean, and comfortable, the food excellent, and the staff professional and friendly.
The grandchildren were very impressed by the fact they had a "room" to themselves, and felt very "grown up".
Overall a very good experience, especially that the hotel could cater for such a wide variety in age profile.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We planned to stay one night at the Pembroke, but extended it to 2 nights as our room looking out at the castle, was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. There is a lot to do around Kilkenny, the the young lady at the front desk was particularly helpful in making suggestions and answering questions. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajera42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel is located in a great location. Walking distance to everything. Staff was so friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here if you're traveling to Kilkenny. We did have a view of the castle from our room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post such a kind review.

Our staff is what makes the Hotel and they are always delighted to hear when they have exeeded expectations. Our location is unrivelled in Kilkenny too which makes visiting all the local attrations very convenient.

We look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £74 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing