We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel, excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very nice hotel, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Pembroke Hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. As we arrived late the first night we decided to dine at the onsite restaurant, Stratham’s. What a great decision. We all really enjoyed all of our food choices. The food was delicious. The service was also very good. We retired to the bar after dinner and enjoyed several night caps in this very cosy spot. Our hotels rooms were also nice, very clean, nice bathrooms etc. One had a lovely view of Kilkenny Castle (well worth a visit & tour) and we found the hotel to be very quiet a night. The breakfast was also excellent. A choice of cereals, fresh fruit etc as well as a full Irish Breakfast. Again, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. On our 2nd night, we decided to eat at Stratham’s again as we did not feel anywhere else could beat it. We were right as again the food was excellent. We would absolutely stay at the Pembroke again the next time we are in Kilkenny. I still haven’t had as good a meal yet as we had in Stratham’s.

Room Tip: Kilkenny Castle well worth a vist. Great tour guides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annoym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit to Kilkenny. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel, Food & Service so much.

We have been working very hard on our food & beverage offering over the past 6 months and its great to hear it is appreciated. All our food is sourced locally is fresh and we ensure that we only use in season produce.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    501
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
215
912
36
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Out one night stay at the Pembroke was very nice. The room was spacious and very clean and the staff was pleasant. This is a tour group type hotel based on the people we met. The hotel does not have a lot of unique atmosphere but if you are looking for a nice hotel centrally located in Kilkenny this should suit you. The breakfast was a little disappointing compared to smaller hotels but understandable due to the large number of guests to serve. Free parking was a bonus but space was limited. Good restaurant "Zuni" is right across the street, Kilkenny Castle is a block or two away and some good pubs are a short walk. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side as the street in front of the hotel can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscUsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford West Midlands UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for three nights over the New Year period, in order to attend a local wedding. The staff on the front desk and the breakfast room were extremely helpful and caring. The room was spacious and very clean and well maintained throughout our stay. The hotel is well situated for all the city centre facilities, and the free parking was a welcome bonus, having driven so far. We used the 21 day advanced booking system which made our stay even better value. We would have no problem in recommening this hotel for visitors to Kilkenny. Cannot comment on the evening dining facilities because we did not need them

Room Tip: The upper floors at the back give a good view of the castle, which is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Mr. Owens

Happy New Year!

Thank you for posting such positive feedback, 2012 is going to be our year!

We hope to welcome you back later in the year and please let us know if we can do anything to assist in the mean time.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for one night in December. We arrived at 3.50pm for check-in at 4 but were told our room wasn't ready and to come back at 5pm. when we came back it still wasn't ready and we waited till nearly 6pm before we got our room. this was a bit of a hassle and we weren't in the mood to be stuffed around after 12 hours of travelling, but the room was great.

Huge room :)
Clean :)
warm :)
Great breakfast :)
view of Kilkenny castle :)

the bed was 2 single beds zipped together and not the most comfortable :(

if you can get it for a good price like we did, i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear about the delay on check-in. I will get this looked into immediately. All our beds are zip and link to accommodate both King & Twin requests but should not cause any discomfort. Again I will get your individual room looked into as priority. Thank you for letting us know.

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay and rated us great in your review. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Myself and my friends dined in Stathams restaurant here in the Pembroke hotel a few weeks ago and we found the meal very disappointing. First of all we had boked the table in time for the early bird which we were told was available at the time of booking. Then when we sat down the waiter gav us the dinner menu and said the early bird was not available. We explained that we had spoken to a lady by phone when booking it and she said it wwas available. He went away for a few minutes and came back with the early bird menu but was not at all friendly or apologetic or didnt explain the misunderstanding. I got the risotto for mains and it was disgusting. I ordered icecream with the dessert instead of cream, the waiter said it would be no problem but then it came out with cream!! Two of us ordered baileys coffees which were both cold. This was an occasion that we had been looking forward to and it turned out very disappointing. The waiter was in no way friendly or warm at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chanel791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is so disheartening to hear any negative comments about our staff, service, quality of food & that you did not feel you were in a warm caring environment. It is our deepest commitment to ensure that every guest feels cared for, appreciated and respected and is evident from our 96% out of 100% score on customer service. Despite this I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, on behalf of our entire staff, we would like to apologize that we were not able to successfully deliver to you the kind of positive and caring experience we pride ourselves on. We would love to have another opportunity to show you the full level of hospitality all our guests deserve. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may ever be of service to you in any way.

Paul Broderick
pbroderick@pembrokekilkenny.com
353 56 77 83500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

A great modern hotel in the heart of Kilkenny city. updated, clean and a close walk to everything! Breakfast was excellent and the girls at the front desk were very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clynmry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Great review, thank you very much.

We are blessed by the customer service our front desk team have and the commitment they have in providing the best customer service possible. Our Front desk Manager is second to none and shows in the team.

We are also blessed by our unrivaled location. Thank you again for your comments.

We hope to see you again.

warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I really enjoy a modern hotel which the describes the rooms in the hotel.

Other hotel choices in Kilkenny appeared more traditional. This one stood out.

Comfortable rooms an a great breakfast.

We were in danger of not having space in the parking lot but that might be true for all hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your recent experiences.

The hotel is Kilkennys newest Hotel with all the modern amenities to match. I am glad you appreciated all we had to offer.

In relation to parking we have over 100 spaces for our guests and we always guarantee a complimentary secure space.

We hope to see you again.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Pembroke Kilkenny is situated on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant culture. With spacious rooms and a peaceful charm, this is a welcoming place that excels at stylish comfort. We offer a wide range of rooms all with air-conditioning and the modern conveniences that you expect from a team that puts your comfort first. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and the Kilkenny Design Centre, fashionable, funky boutiques and walking distance to the city’s pubs, clubs and numerous other amenities, it makes it the ideal location for your getaway. Statham's Bar & Restaurant with its traditional hospitality and relaxed atmosphere is a great place to meet, drink, dine and party in Kilkenny city centre. From brunch to Sunday lunch, from afternoon tea to all day dining with daily specials, we have something for everyone throughout the day and evening. With live bands entertaining guests four nights a week and a sensational selection of wine, spirits and fresh, vibrant cocktails, you're sure to have a great night in Statham's. Whether a quick file and polish or a deluxe spa experience, Mint Beauty, Laser & Skincare Centre has the perfect treatment for you. Mint offers a full complement of services including facials, massages, body treatments, make up application and lessons, threading, waxing, nail treatments, signature packages and our Clinic department offers Candela Max Pro Laser treatments, Microneedling and Skin Peels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing