We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, service and location.”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, service and location.”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here during cat laughs 2012, which was great by the way...

The hotel was fantastically located only a few minutes walk from the centre of town and good food. Service was prompt and friendly every time. Room was much larger than expected, clean and modern. Enough free parking at or around the hotel.

Overall, great value and excellent service. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    517
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
220
943
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our stay at the Pembroke in the center of Kilkenny was truly a pleasant one. Four of us stayed one night in two rooms. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious enough to feel at home.Our night here was booked with a self-drive tour and was ready for us when we arrived around noon.
It is well situated near the center of Kilkenney so that it made walking about the town easy. We had a quiet and restful night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A slightly belated review for the Pembroke Hotel in Kilkenny but they definitely deserve one! I organised a team reunion for a group of us who travelled to South Africa last year with the Niall Mellon Township Trust and this year we decided that this would happen in Kilkenny! I did a bit of research for good location, value, facilities and decided on the Pembroke (also based on Trip Advisor reviews). I just want to say that we could not have had a better experience, from the time of booking a number of rooms with the reservation people who worked with me patiently as I got commitment from attendees, to the dinner menu to suit my group of people (I was conscious of budget which the hotel were great with), to sorting me out with equipment to show various slide presentations during our festivities on the night. From the moment of check-in to departure the staff were welcoming, smiling, friendly and extraordinarily helpful (right down to checking me in on line for a flight I was taking the morning after my departure from the hotel). The duty manager on the night of our event could not have done more for me if I'd asked, he sorted all the technology out and had it all up and running before we arrived into our reserved area for our reunion, because we wanted to keep it informal and people could mingle we decided to go for their 'Bowl Food' option - the food was delicious and typing this now I only wish I had had more on the night! The location of the hotel was superb, at the top of one of the main streets but a minutes walk to the hub. I would absolutely recommend anyone considering Kilkenny for any reason to choose the Pembroke, and I just want to give a special mention to Phil Lanigan from the hotel who made our reunion there a seamless and thoroughly enjoyable and memorable experience, with a truly Irish welcome!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPenny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed for one night in the Pembroke and were very happy with the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for strolling around Kilkenny city with the castle a 5 mins walk away. We had breakfast delivered to our room and it was very impressive.The room was big and spacious. The only issue I would have is the late check in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKE WORTH
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was the first stop on a 7 day self driving tour. Location arranged by Irish Tourisim Dot Com. We (4 of us in 2 rooms) were pleasantly surprised by the nice rooms. It was a bit tricky to find the car park (you turn into the hotel).
There was supposed to be a band in the lounge starting at 10 (an after party for an event). They did show up around 11 (the after party was delayed). Friendly lounge staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed here so many times over the last couple of years and I think it is fantastic. The location cannot be beaten plus just to be able to park in Kilkenny is great. The staff especially Simon, Caroline, Lucy in reception and Lorraine in the dining room go above and beyond in the service they deliver to the guests. They remember what room I prefer and all the little details, it is like a home away from home! The food is excellent especially the breakfast. I had stayed at The Lyrath (very good) and Mount Juliet (disappointing) before I discovered the Pembroke and from that point on, it is the only place I would stay in Kilkenny - I have recommended the hotel to my family and friends and everyone who has stayed has enjoyed it as much as iI have.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liznotrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed for one night here on a girls night out. It's location is excellent, within walking distance of Kilkenny castle and the main pubs and restaurants. The check-in was speedy and courteous, the rooms beautifully kept and because our night sleep was interrupted by some late night revellers activating the smoke alarm, the tray charge on our room service breakfast was waived without us having to ask. The staff was friendly and polite and we would certainly return. Triple room and full breakfast came to less than 70 euro for the night. A real treat! We also got a late checkout when we realised we were still munching breakfast and chatting past 12 noon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing