We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and convenient”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a typical European hotel. Our rooms was clean and comfortable. Beds were very comfortable. If I leaned out the window, I could see the castle. It's in a great location and breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room for charm but the rooms overlooking the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonChickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    517
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
220
943
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First time staying here at the weekend. Lovely spot, very central. The rooms are lovely, beds very comfortable. The only problem we had was that the people in the neighbouring room decided to blare their television for the night. The walls are thin. We had trouble sleeping. The dinner that night in the restaurant was disappointing, with limited choice & the quality of food wasn’t great either. If we go back, we’ll go for bed and breakfast only! The breakfast was good, relaxed & with an ok selection. (The sausages are lovely!) The staff here were nice and friendly too. We’d go back, but only on a B&B deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel overall was very new or newly renovated and modern. Our room looked over Kilkenny Castle! The rooms were extremely clean, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was large. It was about 3 blocks away from the main area with all the pubs/shopping. We really enjoyed our stay here! I even had the owner of the hotel come up to me about 11pm at night to ask how my stay was. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brieezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Pembroke and really loved it. It's not old and quaint; it's modern and crisp, but the service is absolutely excellent - everyone who worked there cared and was lovely to us. There is parking around the corner - a little difficult to find, but it's free and just a short walk. The location is great - everything in Kilkenny is pretty close. The beds were soft, the bedding nice and breakfast was fantastic - exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel was a delight. Short walk to restaurants and pubs, but far just enough away from the hub of things to be quiet at night. We were in Kilkenny over a bank holiday and the town was rocking, but our hotel was oasis of serenity. Rooms were very nice and the staff top notch. Nothing that I would critique.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil94117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slieverue, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Kilkenny City. It is a really nice Boutique Hotel, with very cosy rooms and delicious Breakfast. Both my partner and I stayed for a weekend on B&B basis, it was great value for money. Although It can be easily missed, so make sure you look up exactly where it is before you go! Parking is a problem, there is a very small carpark at the back of the hotel (entrance also easily missed!) But once you get a parking space you will not need your car again until you leave. Everything is at your doorstep. I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieArdfert_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Extremely pleased with our stay at this hotel -- will definately stay there again when we return to Kilkenny. Somewhat modern hotel compared to the other places we stayed (we did a lot of B&Bs in southern Ireland), with spacious rooms and a comfortable bed. Breakfast wasn't spectacular, but was pretty standard with what we experienced elsewhere. Street getting to the hotel is narrow and busy, but this becomes commonplace as you continue to drive around the island. We were able to park in the main lot near the entrance, which was really convenient. It was a bit small so I'm sure there were people staying there who had to park in the auxilary lot, but I'm not sure how far that is from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy and Emil... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing