We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place overall - shame about the parking.”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place overall - shame about the parking.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful decor, friendly staff, well located. Really enjoyed the comfy bed which allowed me to have a really good sleep.

Nice bright, clean bathroom with antifog mirror, but didn't enjoy the hot water suddenly turning ice cold and back again multiple times. Glad to find face towels (which seem to be missing in a lot of hotels).

Another small annoyance is the parking. There are a small number of on site parks packed in like Tetris blocks. A small driveway acts as both an entrance and exit which forced us to reverse back into the main street.

Overall though a lovely experience and we would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    529
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
228
965
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I found the Pembroke to be a pleasant boutique hotel in the centre of Kilkenny. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Castle and all of the various pubs and restaurants that make Kilkenny a vibrant spot for visitors. The hotel is clean and tidy, the reception and main entrance are well kept. Our room was on the second floor and there are 2 elevators so there is no waiting around. For a small ish hotel, the room was quite a good size with a separate walk in wardrobe area. The bathroom was clean and tidy, although I prefer a separate bath and shower. The room had a spacious double (super king size I think) and all the standard amenities; tea/coffee, biscuits, safe, table & chairs, cable TV, desk, etc. Overall, a very nice room. Breakfast was served in the main dining area downstairs and complimentary newspapers were provided. The breakfeast was a bit of a let down for me as the hot food was all pre-cooked (including the fried eggs!!) and was only lukewarm. This is a personal bugbear of mine and is the main reason for not awarding the hotel a higher rating. I did request porridge as a special order and it was quite nice so I guess this kind of balances things out. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Convenient, clean and handily close to everything in the town. The staff were lovely and the bar was accommodating. We arrived late one evening and needed to eat; the concierge immediately called a bar and arranged for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this trip while in Ireland and got exactly what we expected - a nice property walking distance to all shopping and attractions with great service. I also thought this was a great value for the price - I would definitely recommend the Pembroke if you are in Kilkenny!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Traveler_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just retuned from the Pembroke after yet again a fantastic stay, we were given a fantastic room with castle view and it was spotless with all the little luxuries one could hope for. The gentleman we booked with by phone Paul was friendly and very professional as indeed were the bar staff restaurant staff and the receptionist Courtney could not have been more welcoming or helpful ,the staff deserve great credit and well done to them all .Just to mention bar food was excellent as indeed was breakfast looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosscats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A wonderful break away! Staff went above and beyond the call of duty! The room was beautiful and every comfort was provided! Breakfast was just delicious, we could not fault one thing!
The wonderful receptionist Courtney was simply fantastic and is a true asset to this hotel!
If you are planning on a trip to Kilkenny then I highly recommend that you stay in the Pembroke Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights at the weekend and overall it was a very pleasant stay. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice. Plenty of space and nice and quiet even thou it was a busy bank holiday weekend. Its n a very central location and we managed to get parking in the adjacent car park. My only complaint would be I felt breakfast was a little poor. as we had our 18 month old toddler with us we were up early and one of the first down for breakfast both mornings.Unfortunately I found all the "hot" items to be only lukewarm and missing a few essentials like beans and some sort of potatoe option (hash brown or sliced potatoe). Also I dont believe u should leave fried eggs sitting around...even in restaurants that serve breakfast buffet style they often will cook the eggs to order. Also a pet hate if mine is regular old supermarket sliced pan. Its not difficult to offer some nice artisian bread for breakfast, something a bit different. Overall I was very disappointed by breakfast but the hotel itself is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMR610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing