We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a great base - everything within walking distance - good restaurants,bars, shops and the castle and its lovely grounds. The heating is worked on an individual room basis which makes perfect sense -- I would advise if you are staying in cold weather to phone ahead and ask that the heating in your room is turned on before you arrive as it can be pretty cold until it heats up. A minor hiccup in an otherwise pleasant stay, Staff very friendly and breakfast top notch - for a buffet it was really good. We waited until the last minute to go to breakfast and the hot buffet was still fresh and hot - not always the way in all hotels and the plates were warm - nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sharfar

Thank you for your recent review.

We are very lucky to be situated in the middle of all Kilkennys great attractions.

All rooms are now being manually controlled and pre-heated for guests post and During stays to avoid the sharp temperatures we are getting at the moment. The individually controlled air conditioning units are great for energy efficiency. Thanks again for your constructive feedback and hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    529
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
228
965
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here as a treat for a 2 night break with my sister. We were given an upgraded room with a view of the castle which was great. On arrival part of our package included a light lunch (my only issue with this is that on the phone we were told this would include a starter and a main, but on arrival we were informed it would be a main course only). The food was tasty though. I was disappointed that the dinner menu was the same as the lunch menu, which held only one option for vegetarians. However, the Food and Beverage supervisor, Türker, assured me I could have anything I wanted for dinner and when it arrived it was presented very well and was delicious, as was my sister's meal. The staff dealt with any issue we had promptly and were extremely helpful. Paul (the manager) showed us a fantastic pub (Tynans Bridge House Bar) and even gave us a lift down. As I am recovering from a broken ankle the hotel gave me use of an accessible room for showering, which was most welcome. All in all, the staff at the Pembroke excelled themselves, and the hotel itself is of a very high standard. I will most definitely be making a return visit. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in an upgraded room so I would ask for an upgrade if available and the castle view is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaBWexford_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Tina

Great getting to meet you and your sister and hope you are on the mend.

I have passed on your comments to Turker for a job well done!.

Looking forward to meeting you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel, but wished we had stayed more. It was a very comfortable hotel. The bed was comfortable and the size of room was very large. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for walking around the medieval town of Kilkenny.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. My only dislike was that we didn't know that the parking was right next door to the hotel when we came in at night in the rain so it was a bit inconvenient, but they let us leave our car there the next day while we walked around for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one evening in Kilkenny and found Pembroke Hotel to be a wonderful & comfortable hotel in the city center. We were driving & it was easy to find & we loved the free parking. Upon checking in the lady was very informative & provided us with recommendations for sight seeing, shopping and eating. The room was very spacious and had three single beds, which was perfect for my mom, sister & me traveling together. Breakfast was also very nice. Next time I'm in Kilkenny I will definitely stay at Pembroke.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleurdlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Only stayed in this hotel for one evening but it was lovely. Very large spacious room, comfortable bed, fantastic breakfast. The service was excellent too. Had a lovely evening out in Kilkenny which is right on the doorstep. The only problem was parking. There is fee parking at the hotel and if the car park is full there is more parking available a little way up the street. This isn't so good if you have heavy bags with you.
Would I stay here again? definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkleineye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel and i would stay here again. Only fault i found here are the pillows are a little hard and the breakfast was beautiful on two of the mornings but parts of the breakfast were cold on one morning. Staff on the reception desk were very good and very welcoming. Generally we had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Having arrived in Kilkenny without having a room booked, we took a quick drive around town to get our bearings, then it was off to get a coffee and and wifi, to check the trip advisor hotel recommendations.
Pembroke Hotel was on top of the list. The location on the map looked ideal, so a quick phone call was made to book a room. As it was mid-week in November, a room was available, and an excellent rate was offered for bed and breakfast.
Trip advisor was right again. This is a extremely good hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, a spacious comfortable air conditioned room with a comfy bed, great location right in town and a terrific breakfast.
We originally were only going to stay for 1 night in Kilkenny, but due to the quality of this hotel, we ended up staying for 2.
I would highly recommend a stay at Pembroke Hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmpMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing