We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modern Hotel”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very modern hotel which surprised me with the size of Kilkenny.

Rooms were very spacious and not issue with parking.

Kilkenny is only small and this hotel is ideal to explore around the town.

Good choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomzoomboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had two very full days in Kilkenny, sightseeing. Booked the Pembroke in advance, based on reviews, mostly on this site. I would return, and was not disappointed. I asked for a quiet room with a view of the castle, and got both. I asked for a late check out today, and got no argument. I asked tons of questions about the city, and the staff were beyond patient with me. They were ALL professional, presentable, warm, and knowledgeable.

The room was clean, cosy, modern & comfortable. And most importantly; QUIET. I am from New York. We can be REAL fussy. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank TerribleBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have stayed here twice, Very comfortable hotel in prime location close to Kilkenny castle and centre of Kilkenny. Staff are very friendly and there was a good atmosphere in the hotel bar. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimear369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed in the Pembroke recently with a group of friends. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant in the hotel, food was great and really good value. Would recommend the cocktails! Perfect for a girls night out in kilkenny, brilliant location, walking distance from Left Bank and the nightclub. Despite the proximity to town room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Wow, so very impressed! The room was clean, spacious, the bed was nice and firm, the shower water pressure was strong (you know how some hotels the water just trickles!), and the breakfast is fabulous..... I can't say enough about how happy we were here! They took us on on the spot, without prior reservations, the gal at the front desk gave us fabulous tips on what to do/visit in Kilkenny, and we had a marvelous time walking the town and sightseeing. By the way, this is the ONLY hotel in Kilkenny that provides parking; all the other hotels require you to park on the street and pay hourly for your parking slot. Hands down, this was the most comfortable stay on our trip so far! LOVED this hotel :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

January 3rd had the pleasure of spending time in this beautiful friendly well appointed hotel in the heart of Kilkenny.our travelling party consisted of 10 Chinese residents over in Ireland for a family wedding and the welcome and service from all in the hotel was second to none The rooms were bright and spacious and the added touch of mineral water and nibbles was super .Bar food was of an excellent standard and the buffet breakfast was well presented and extremly tasty.The visitors from China were very impressed and to be honest The Pembroke ranks amongst the best hotels i have ever stayed in Well done for making our stay in Kilkenny so enjoyable thanks to all your staff A 4 star experience excellent value and a real Cead mile failte .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimboblucazade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed in the Pembroke for a Saturday night while exploring Kilkenny City. Staff were especially friendly and courteous when we arrived at the front desk. Breakfast was top notch and additionally the bar had a nice adult crowd without being intimidating. Highly recommendable for couples looking for a weekend break. The location couldn't be any better and the room was second to none. Well done to all at the Pembroke :-) We will be back!

Room Tip: Not aware of any Spa or Swimming pool deals associated with the hotel - or reduces costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £77 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing