We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
kildare
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“relaxing stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights in april 2014, hotel is lovely , staff very nice. rooms very clean and beds so comfortable.
Breakfast on the first morning was a little bit of Faulty towers........ we arrived at 9.30, place was very busy staff flying about, not alot relaxing about it. We asked for water , waited 10 mins asked again finally arrived 15 mins later. We had cereal and fruit finished before the tea arrived. Not great variety only full fat milk, NO porridge, i mean come on , choice ofhot breakfast was not great, over cooked rashers, fried eggs like flying saucers, we asked for fresh again waited 10 mins by the time they arrived we had finished our tea and toast.
Second morning we were down at 8.10am and things were so much more relaxed and better, though food was fresher same available.

Room Tip: we had room 303 fabulous, very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    506
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
217
926
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed here over the Easter weekend and the hotel was fab, staff were great location was perfect right in middle of town but hotel was nice and quite, stayed in room 211, bed was big and soooooo comfy! :) had dinner in hotel restaurant it was gorgeous had the chicken, breakfast was ok...... Will defo return again soon.. Would highly recommend, great value for money :)

Room Tip: Rooms at back are soooooooo quite, I'm a very light sleeper and didn't hear a sound even on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_W_385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I feel that I'm just repeating everything already said but this hotel ticks all the boxes. Twice! It's location in the middle of kilkenny town centre is perfect. The hotel is modern , luxurious , spotless and with super friendly staff. Rooms are large with all amenities you could want. Will definitely be back and will reccommend to all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank merseymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and the hotel and staff were really lovely
Hotel is just off the main city centre , great location for getting around
The staff here are so helpful and friendly
Would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrone
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for three days over Easter 2014 in the Pembroke Hotel in Kilkenny. On arrival, which was earlier than normal booking in time, we had a nice pleasant surprise to find our room ready, which we appreciated after a long journey. The lady in reception, Suzy was very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff in the hotel during our stay. Our room was warm, comfortable, immaculately clean, with fresh towels, every day and bed changed on second day. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the beautiful castle, lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. Kilkenny is a lovely town, very clean and tidy with lots of independent pretty shops. We had booked for breakfast only, but tried the evening meal on our first day, and as it was excellent, we had our evening meal there each day of our stay. Excellent value for money, fabulous food served in either the bar or dining room. We would return to the Pembroke again and highly recommend it for exploring Kilkenny.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor which was excellent. Feel confident that all rooms have same high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is very modern and clean. It is in an excellent location, within walking distance of all of Kilkenny's main attractions. We got parking just behind the hotel but if there had been no spaces, there is an overflow carpark just a minute or two away. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em322014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have just spent three nights at the Pembroke. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Kilkenny City by foot. The hotel is clean and reasonably modern in terms of decor.

We deducted a star due to the standard of the breakfast. Although the typical Irish breakfast, cereals, bread and juices are available, we thought the quality of produce was actually quite low. We are no food experts, but compared to breakfasts we have had in other hotels, we were not keen on this one... so much so in fact, we did not bother eating breakfast at the hotel on the third morning - this is something we have never done before at other hotels where breakfast was included in our package.

It is worth mentioning that during our stay some building work (small scale I think) was taking place in the hotel. This work involved kango hammers being used from 9am on two of the three mornings we were there. When I complained to reception staff on the second morning that the noise was a nuisance, they could not have been more helpful or apologetic. My complaint was passed on to the general manager who immediately made contact with me directly to apologise in a most professional manner - so thumbs up for staff and management promptly acting on a noise complaint. For this reason I added a star to my overall rating.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing