We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We decided to try the Pembroke Hotel for a change - outside it looks pretty ordinary - inside is entirely a different matter, it is, quite frankly, fabulous - beautifully designed interior, bedroom spacious and spotlessly clean with a view overlooking the Castle - the breakfast was fabulous but the evening meal was even more so..the whole experience made Kilkenny an even better place to visit. Well done to Management!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    525
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
224
957
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I can't think of even ONE complaint about this hotel. Spacious room, great view, fantastic service. Lucy is a prize on staff at this place. The hotel restaurant had THE MOST DELICIOUS SOUP EVER EVER. I left my jacket at the hotel and they still had it for me. Perfectly located to city centre and the castle. Great breakfast. Easy check in. Comfy beds. Super clean!! I had a lovely bath soak in the big bath. Everything was absolutely perfect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicetry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here recently and were delighted with the comfort and position of this hotel. Staff were extra friendly and helpful. Location is near the castle and a short walk from restaurants, shops and sightseeing. Our room was towards the back of the hotel so it was very quiet. Would definitely stay here again if I got the opportunity.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosiep49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent one night in the Pembrook Hotel with a group of girls a couple of weeks ago for a hen night away, we had a really great stay. The staff were v friendly and really couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were clean and comfy.. Following a cocktail masterclass with Adrian we had a 3 course meal which was beautiful with a great atmosphere in the main dining area. Our breakfast the following morning was fresh and again delish! Thanks to Paul and all the staff.. I would highly recommend this very central hotel which was great value.. I'll be a definite returning customer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights in april 2014, hotel is lovely , staff very nice. rooms very clean and beds so comfortable.
Breakfast on the first morning was a little bit of Faulty towers........ we arrived at 9.30, place was very busy staff flying about, not alot relaxing about it. We asked for water , waited 10 mins asked again finally arrived 15 mins later. We had cereal and fruit finished before the tea arrived. Not great variety only full fat milk, NO porridge, i mean come on , choice ofhot breakfast was not great, over cooked rashers, fried eggs like flying saucers, we asked for fresh again waited 10 mins by the time they arrived we had finished our tea and toast.
Second morning we were down at 8.10am and things were so much more relaxed and better, though food was fresher same available.

Room Tip: we had room 303 fabulous, very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed here over the Easter weekend and the hotel was fab, staff were great location was perfect right in middle of town but hotel was nice and quite, stayed in room 211, bed was big and soooooo comfy! :) had dinner in hotel restaurant it was gorgeous had the chicken, breakfast was ok...... Will defo return again soon.. Would highly recommend, great value for money :)

Room Tip: Rooms at back are soooooooo quite, I'm a very light sleeper and didn't hear a sound even on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_W_385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I feel that I'm just repeating everything already said but this hotel ticks all the boxes. Twice! It's location in the middle of kilkenny town centre is perfect. The hotel is modern , luxurious , spotless and with super friendly staff. Rooms are large with all amenities you could want. Will definitely be back and will reccommend to all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank merseymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
760 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing