We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff & Location”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Busy spot but super location and they staff were super - from the room staff to the Manager, Paul, all were very friendly and welcoming . Could not do enough for us. Advised on places to eat and drink. Right in the heart of the city. We ate in the hotel bar one night - very good and reasonably priced also. I will be back for sure. Super deals on rooms as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dial_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in May 2014. Without checking we assumed Kilkenny would not be well served with good hotels but we were wrong. There are lots, so this must keep them on their toes. The Pembroke is bang in the middle, and our room (301) was very spacious and well appointed. There is free onsite parking which we found very useful - there was always at least one space. Staff were very pleasant (bit formal on reception) even though the hotel was busy and there was lots for them to do. We ate in one night - this was ok, but there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance so one does not have to eat in. Breakfast ditto ok. If we came again we would probably want to try one of the other hotels just for a change but that is no reflection on the Pembroke which we would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Loved our stay at the Pembroke. The location is great, walking distance to everything. Our room was spacious and very clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent, we stayed 3 nights and ate dinner there twice. The breakfast was included in the price and was wonderful. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. We had to leave very early before breakfast started on our last day and asked the dining staff if we could take something with us fruit, yogurt etc. the night before. He said the kitchen staff would be preparing breakfast at that time so insisted that we come by and he would make sure we had a nice breakfast before we left. We were very grateful for this kindness. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Pembroke after spending a week in B and B's .Loved having large bathroom and guest room.. Friendly staff, great off street parking, and close to attractions and pubs. We had dinner in restaurant the was enjoyable. Only complaint was the during breakfast, waitresses constantly ground coffee in the middle of the dining room. We all know how loud that is. Could not understand why it was not moved into kitchen. It actually made our breakfast time extremely unpleasant. Could not even have a conversation. Almost marked rating down because of it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great bedroom with huge bed and comfy pillows. The bathroom has wall-to-wall shelves for storage and beautiful modern fixtures and big towels. Although there is a magnifying mirror in the bathroom there is no socket to plug in the hairdryer but in the bedroom there is no light by the mirror. For such a nice place, this doesn't make sense. The TV is also difficult to use. Breakfast is adequate. The staff will makeh custom omelets but the selection of other foods is just okay. The wi-fi is reliable and very easy to use. The staff is excellent-quick to respond if you need anything.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location, lovely room and lovely, helpful, friendly staff, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were so accommodating, location was right in the heart of beautiful Kilkenny a perfect base to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AussiesQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first stop on our tour of Ireland and were we ever thankful for a hotel environment that was not only accommodating but also extremely clean and welcoming. The staff is exceptionally helpful and we found everything as described in prior reviews. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £65 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing