We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Kilkenny”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Kilkenny”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed one night at the Pembroke. The room was a good size, location is central, parking is free and accessible, wi-fi is free, service was friendly and accommodating, breakfast was included and good, and the price was incredibly reasonable. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonfoodie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    534
    106
    36
    10
See reviews for
231
980
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I went here for dinner with my mother and uncle, on June 15th for an early evening meal, my uncle is a big steak fan, and will only eat it "pure" as in no trimmings, he said afterwards that it was the best steak he'd ever eaten!!

My mother and I had the fish and chips, i don't even like fish but decided to be adventurous and it was just delicious! The batter was so light and tasty, and they chip didn't need a pinch more of seasoning-they were perfect, for dessert i had the special which was baked cheesecake, its over a week later and i'm still thinking about it. Our servers Daithi and Sean were so pleasant just enough attention, thanks for a wonderful meal, i will be back and WILL recommend to friends.

I was lucky to be back at the Pembroke at the weekend for a birthday party downstairs and again everything was just great!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvieLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in an executive room. Found the whole experience very enjoyable. Location is superb and also off street parking in this vibrant and busy city,a real bonus. Very close to the castle. And for visiting all parts of the city.
Staff were warm and welcoming and breakfast was excellent.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Was excited to stay here after all the reviews. Small street front presence, we drove by it without even seeing it. The front desk staff were very accommodating, professional, and pleasant. Our rooms were as requested. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were hard and uncomfortable (stiff neck in the morning) Lovely tea set and coffee provisions in the room for mornings. Some of our party had requested castle view rooms and that was nice, but as it says you have a view of the castle, but of a lot of other things as well, you are not adjacent to the castle. Our room did not have the castle view, and we had a view of another building outside of our window...not a great view, but we didn't come to sit in our rooms to look out at the city. So not sure if that is important.
The front desk was happy to provide converters for US style electrical plugs, they also provided hair dryers in the room, and there is a US type plug in, but it did not work in any of the 3 rooms we had with our party.
Easy walking to anything in town and the hotel provided restaurant recommendations for dinner. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning which was a full Irish breakfast and was very good!
We did have a bad experience, on the fist day out we were going to stow our passports in the room safe, but when my husband opened it up, it was full of used condoms!!!!! Yuck!! So a bit of a miss for the cleaning service, but the rooms were otherwise meticulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Tx.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Really liked the hotel and the desk staff on days. However there was a large wedding the Friday night we were there. We had been given a room right in front of the elevator which proved to be our downfall. Apparently the downstairs bar stayed open or wedding guests till the guests felt they were besotted enough. The first night several groups got off the elevator until the last loud group of girls got off at 4:00am. We were wide awake by then and called the front desk. A man on duty said he would arrange for us to be moved to a quieter room. When we called next am the girls in duty had been told nothing. However they moved us ( still on the same floor) to what we hopes was the quiet end. Alas, we found out at 4 am again we had been moved next door to the party girls!!!
To be fair the hotel tried, but should have located us on another floor away from the loud guests.
Liked the hotel overall, just he wary of large wedding groups.
Location and rooms in general
were good. Nice entertainment in the lounge for hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockwallnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staff was attentive, rooms clean and well appointed. Irish breakfast was a great way to start the day. Close walk to downtown. Would stay again. Updated. Rooms with comfy beds. Pillows were not optimal, but consistent with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyandRoosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed overnight at the Pembroke. The hotel is a lovely smart modern boutique hotel. Room and bathroom top quality, and the service very good. Location is also very good though the parking is a bit tricky and we had to park in the overflow car park a couple of minutes away . The food however, was a let down, not breakfast which was standard and fine, but our evening meal. Although service was charming the food was mediocre and the choice too limited. Both the burger and sea bream were overcooked and just not nice generally ( burger was leathery and a bit glutinous in texture, for example). Would definitely recommend a stay here but the kitchen needs to up its game.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelleE466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing