We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Lovely Stay'”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here with my mum for two days, we both had a lovely time. Courtney checked us in and had our room ready early as promised. Our room had a lovely view of the castle, the beds were very comfortable and it was a treat to have bath robes and sleepers. Breakfast was buffet style and all the breakfast staff were very friendly. We had dinner in the hotel on our second night, food was good and portion sizes. Daithi on the bar was very friendly and very helpful. The location of the hotel is great just around the corner from the castle and a few steps to the nearest shop/café. The only thing that I would say is while having dinner in the bar I missed a bit of background music, it lacked a bit of atmosphere because of it. I would not hesitate in staying here again, we really enjoyed our stay, thanks again Courtney for your help.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here last year during the Arts Festival, and liked it so much that we stayed here again this year.

It is well located in the very centre of town, with free parking - albeit that the overflow park is a (very) few minutes walk away.

The rooms are large, comfortable, well equipped and clean ... and an excellent breakfast is included in the price.

The hotel's strong suit though is its staff: young, enthusiatic, friendly, helpful and always prepared to "go the extra mile". By way of example, I was sitting in the outside smoking area waiting for my wife to come down so that we could have breakfast. A manager spotted me and asked if I would like a tea or coffee whilst I waited, and returned very quickly with the coffee requested.

I noticed that there have been some recent comments about a less than effusive greeting from Reception. That certainly wasn't our experience. Perhaps it depends on how much attention you like/need! A smile and a nod as one passes Reception on returning to the hotel is fine for me.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter, but those at the front don't have a noise problem pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The measure of quality of a hotel breakfast is not the bacon, although many hotels will focus on this and try to convince you that their bacon was smoked only ten miles away and so must inevitably be tastier than anything anywhere else. It is the quality of the grilled tomatoes, they must not be smothered in oil, nor just frightened by the flame so they are rock hard, but should be sharp, just a little caramelised and sufficiently large enough to get more than one mouthful. The breakfast chef at the Pembroke scores top marks. Breakfast buffet works well, tables are cleared, food trays replenshed as they empty and waiting staff are very friendly and efficient - probably helps that the boss supervises the breakfast room.

The hotel is well located near the Butler House, relax in that garden if the weather permits, and a short walk thorough to the castle. The architecture is nothing special but the rooms, at least on 2nd floor, are of a good size. You'll find also some interesting artworks in the public areas. Our room was clean and housekeeping was discrete and efficient. Wifi is free and works well. (Just two small things, the thermostat on the bath tap and the controls on the safe wre broken, but life sometimes is too short to complain.)

We had no problem with parking but there are limited numbers on site.

So why not a 5* review? Front of house staff when they spoke with you were friendly and polite but it would have been nice to just be welcomed into the hotel as we came back maybe to be asked if we had enjoyed our day or even just "How are ya?" (Or how was the house pick-me-up offered in reception - but truth may hurt when you say it tastes of Dioralite!) Staring at the computer screen and not engaging with the customer is wrong and maybe a bit rude. Not much to change to get the extra star.

If you prefer modern hotels then this is probably the pick of the bunch in Kilkenny.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our third hotel stay on a touring holiday. Our hotels in Galway and Killarney were more traditional - and our welcome on arrival at both was in stark contrast to the Pembroke,
Our room was good - well serviced, good bathroom (remember to take shower gel into the shower with you or you wet the floor trying to retrieve it!) decent sized room, robes & slippers provided, comfortable bed, blackout curtains, air con.
Breakfast was very average, (why no smoked salmon?) but service was swift and cheerful, well managed.
It's just disappointing to walk into reception, past staff who do not even pause in their conversation to acknowledge you - only a guest, after all.
If you are in Kilkenny for the arts festival and an event over runs, the restaurant at the Pembroke closes at 10 and room service doesn't start until 11, when the night porter arrives. Disappointing. Will look elsewhere next year - pity as I slept really well here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple's break in the Pembroke hotel last weekend. From the moment we set foot in the hotel, the staff were extremely welcoming & friendly. They gave us great advice at reception with regards to places to go & things to see in Kilkenny. The decor of the hotel was stylish & modern & the room was spacious & extremely comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night & were delighted with the choice & variety of the menu. The staff in the resident bar were extremely friendly & made us feel very welcome. All in all, this hotel boosts remarkable standards & I would recommend it & Kilkenny to anyone looking for a weekend away.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff were so helpful and lovely. Our room was clean and lovely and the breakfast was included in our booking. It's just a short, pleasant stroll into town from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Dobbie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

There is nothing exciting nor interesting about this hotel. The only remarkable thing is its central position. Everything else is shabby, characterless and very standard in an annoying and anonimous way.
The room was furnished in a boring and unimaginitive way, with an old carpet and a view over the parking lot. The bathroom was big but the bathtub was clogged and the door dirty.
Breakfast was mediocre in every way, with little choice and poor quality food.
Only one positive note (apart from the position, but Kilkenny is a very small town, so being central was not that difficult): the staff at the reception was nice and friendly. Too bad, though, that we were offered a newspaper for the next morning and we did not receive it.
We were really happy that we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenlodwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#2 of 19 in Kilkenny
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £63 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing