We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok nothing special”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2009

i stayed in this hotel i found it to be in a great location but parking was in the sister hotel which was ok. The rooms where very nice and the bed wel i just wanted to take it home but have to say the breakfast staff great sharon was very pleasent and helpful but can not say the same for the other staff they come across as if they do not want to be their and are not very helpful..em i guess some training is needed on how to deal with customers in the right way

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eoindela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,678 - 1,684 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2009

We were delighted to discover the Pembroke during a recent visit to Kilkenny. It's a modern hotel with every amenity. The room was spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was superb. There is a pub and restaurant as well. The staff is friendly and helpful - in fact Claire, the chef, having already finished for the night, went back to the kitchen to prepare a late evening snack for my boyfriend. Free parking is conveniently located just steps down the street. Everything of interest is within easy walking distance. At Euro 89 per night including breakfast, it wasn't the cheapest place to stay but it was worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandSNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

My biggest problem with this hotel is that the hotel does not in fact have a car park of its own.In fact,the car park is a 5 mins walk to its sister hotel(The Ormonde).
I had spoken to receptionist previous to our arrival and she had never informed me about its lack of a Car Park!
As a result ,this caused major inconvenience and confusion,especially looking after the belongings of Young children.
Hotel only suitable for young couples

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disgruntledIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Lovely hotel, lovely room, lovely staff. Nice location-not righ inside the hustle and bustle of the town yet only 2 minutes away from it all.#
I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz1Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

stayed at this hotel for one night to attend a family party..check in friendly and quick which was great as we were running late...lovely evening .comfortable room and great breakfast..what more could you want..all in all modern hotel,friendly staff and great location..we will be back..well worth a visit..

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jaym0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We spent two nights at the Pembroke hotel in early January. On arrival we were delighted by the location and the decor. The receptionist was very cheery and the room very spacious and well appointed. We chose dinner in the hotel on the night we arrived and the food was delicious. The restaurant also boasted a varied wine choice. The bed was huge and the shower was powerfull. The breakfast would set you up for the day and plenty of choice. I would heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank PDGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed in the Pembroke Hotel on the 23rd September during the National Ploughing Championship in Cuffesgrange. I was a bit wary after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We got an excellent rate which included B & B and an evening meal. We checked in with a very friendly girl on reception who asked us what time did we want to eat at, she arranged it for us. The room was fantastic, a queen size bed, huge flat screen TV with sat channels, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and a room safe. Free Wi-Fi is available for guests. I certainly have no complaints at all except that the service was a bit slow for the evening meal but the meal was well worth waiting for, it was served in a small bistro just off the reception area, staff were very friendly. The breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereals, croissants, brown bread, tea/coffee and toast was served to the table, you helped yourself to the cooked breakfast. Again the staff were friendly and attentive. Overall we were very happy with our stay, the hotel is in a good location within walking distance of everything, free overnight parking is available in the multi storey car park of the Ormonde hotel (sister hotel) just down the street. I would stay again in the Pembroke in the future. Kilkenny is a great city with plenty of shops, sightseeing etc, well worth a visit, especially the Nicholas Mosse pottery shop in Bennetsbridge just a short drive from Kilkenny city.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Poppie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £64 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing