We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this hotel”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I highly recommend this hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This is a fantastic hotel. The location of The Pembroke Hotel was so good that I didn't need to move the car from the hotel carpark once. The main streets are only a short stroll away. The bedrooms were well decorated, spacious and very clean. The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good also. The only one reservation I have about this hotel, is that the cleaning staff entered the room an hour before check-out time on our final day; despite the 'do not distrub' sign on the door. As I explored Kilkenny, I saw some other hotels that I had come across on the internet, and the Pembroke was definately one of the best located hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cork10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    529
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
228
965
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The staff could not have been more friendly or more helpful, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast fantastic. The location is perfect for the castle or dozens of pubs, restaurants and bars. Go there, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Went to the hotel on a supervalu break two nigths b&b and one dinner with my boyfriend. Checked in on Fri night about 8pm and got parking in the main carpark. Reception were friendly and our room was very clean and large. The room had blackout curtains so when we went back to bed after breakfast for a nap ,ha... it was like sleeping at night time. Breakfast each morning was really nice and as we went down last minute the full breakfast and good service was all still available. The staff at breakfast were very professional and helpful. We had dinner on the Sat night and I couldn't fault it. I had the duck spring roll and the scallops for main very nice, top nosh ! The location was spot on, two minutes to the hub of all activities. We went to the residance bar on the Sat night, very nice and good fun. On Sun am when we got back to the room after breakfast and chanced my arm looking for late checkout and the kindly obliged at no extra charge. Would definately stay her again and highly recommend it. Thanks Pembroke Hotel and staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninorcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Have rarely stayed in an hotel with such a charming and helpful staff. Staff were totally charming and more than helpful in every way. I was travelling with my elderly mother, with family haunts in the town. The staff were lovely in their helpfulnesss, and charm towards her.
Over and above that the room was charming, large and well appointed with a lovely bathroom and lots of big squishy towels, although I lamented the lack of a towelling dressing gown,( the laundry can't be worse than 2-3 days of towels).

The breakfast was great, not the buffet which was dried-up and plastic, but the other, cooked to perfection. Eggs and bacon served without greasiness. Toast dry and crisp with lots of proper coffee and tea.

'Hotel Dinner' on night of arrival well above expected level. Cooking scallops well is a rare gift.

We were more than happy with servivce. It was exellent vaue.

Also liked the security of the off street parking.

Would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaStatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

A lovely, modern, clean hotel right in Kilkenny with secure parking and very pleasant staff. Only downside being our room being at the rear was overlooking a small building area. Would recommend wholeheartedly

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

A small in-city hotel with helpful, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a very nice pub-restaurant. The rooms are well equipped and, when the wired Internet to our room wouldn't work, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us using the hotel's wireless facilities.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We chose to stay at the Pembroke because of its location and chose a castle view room. The only disappointment was that the castle was not lit up at night. The room was spacious, very modern, quiet and comfortable. The staff was eager to help with any request (3 different people gave me good running routes), and the breakfast was very good. They also provide a nice parking lot at no extra charge. The location is perfect for walking anywhere in the city. The restaurant/bar is very elegant. We were very happy with the price when compared to the room and services we received at the Pembroke. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Kilkenny for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airpower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing