We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I loved this hotel. Very modern and stylish. The receptionists are very welcoming and efficient. The room was top class, very spacious and furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was a good size and very high quality with an abundance of lights....even under the sink. It looked fab! The shower over the bath was excellent. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was free internet via a cable, and it worked great. The only downside was we didn't have much of a view. The car park was secure behind the hotel. No need for a car for going out in the evening, the hotel is a very short walk to the pubs and restaurants of Kilkenny. Definitely go to the Kytelers Inn, great food and music. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent and the breakfast staff are very efficient and eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookiepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    530
    104
    36
    9
See reviews for
229
968
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, Co Armagh, N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Booked the Penbroke almost at the last minute having already booked a three night stay in west cork starting on Tue 10th Aug. We decided to break the journey from North Armagh with a one night stay in Kilkenny. I booked the Penbroke Hotel to stay on the monday night online, when we arrived the two young ladies on reception could not have been more helpful one of them even arranged to pay my M50 toll online.The room was large very clean and well layed out the breakfast first class and the breakfast staff were also very helpful and efficient.The location of the hotel could not have been better and Kilkenny itself is a vibrant city with lots to do and see.The next time i plan a few days away i will be going to kilkenny and i will be booking the Penbroke Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

After 4 nights of good and bad B&Bs, this hotel was pure luxury. The car park is great (no charge), the staff were all helpful and friendly, the room modern and well appointed. (Stick your room key in the slot by the door and keep it there to operate the lights and air. When you take it out, the utilities work for a few minutes and then timer off. Also the temp control is in Celsius so know how to convert to F or know a comfortable temp for you in C. ) We had a great view of the top of the castle. The thick comforter was wonderful. The bathroom is a nice size with a granite countertop and nice bowl sink. Plenty of shelving for clothes or whatever. Best of all, the price was extremely reasonable, esp. for the location. Shopping, pubs, and the castle are an easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheckOffBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed in Killkenny many times but this was the first time at this hotel.Very nice room and friendly staff great breakfast. Good centrl location would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Stayed in this hotel for night one are vacation around Ireland. The room was very nice and location was great. We were going to eat in the pub but staff never came to get our order. Moved across the road to Victor's pub where service and food were very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Having stayed at the Pembroke just last weekend for the umpteenth time, I'v finally gotten around to putting up my review. For numerous reasons we travel to Kilkenny a lot and look forward so much to checking in. I'm trying my best to think of any time that we have been unhappy.
-Reception. So efficient, pleasant and helpful

-Accommodation. Really nice and modern rooms. Clean and bright. Bathrooms were spacious, clean and had really great showers.

-Food. Definately the highlight of any time we've been there (mainly because I LOVE FOOD) On different occasions we've had both lunch and dinner and on all occasions we've had breakfast. The lunch menu was varied and very reasonabley priced, concidering the large portions. The dinner menu, again was so varied with great options. I usually go for a fish main course and I've never been let down. My other half goes for something more meaty and is quite critical but rarely has a complaint. Breakfast, so much to choose from at the buffet, and the hot breakfast, fresh, fast and teapots that dont spil when you pour, unlike almost every restaurant or cafe in the country. (it baffles me). All in all the food, in a word, flavoursome
One thing that stands out for me is, just last weekend when we stayed there, before we went out for the night we went to the bar and ordered two sandwiches. We asked the girl if she could wrap them in tin foil so we could bring them to our room and have them later as we were going to be back late. She put in the order and then insisted the chef would keep them in the cold room for us. When we got back later that night, the night porter, as soon as we told him our room number, went and got our sandwiches. It was a life saver at that hour of the night.

The Bar- We never spend much time in the bar as we always have somewhere to be in town. Although we would often have one or two before we go out. The bar staff are friendly and welcoming.

Location- You cant get more central than this hotel. Walking distance from anywhere in Kilkenny city, with free parking.

To sum up, great location, beautiful food, really nice rooms and friendly efficient staff. I spend a lot of time in hotels and really appreciate when a hotel "gets it right".

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan_Dempsey, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for your kind review and feedback.

Its great to hear when we get everything right!

Looking forward to your next visit.

Eoghan Dempsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

3 friends and I stayed here for in July and loved it! The rooms were very modern and had a fantastic bathroom. We didn't have our laptop with us and the staff lent us theirs so we could book the hotel at our next destination. The location is great and there is free parking. I think you can use the facilities and spa at a nearby health club but we didn't have time to do so. We would definitely return (would love to have a room with a nice view next time!).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan_Dempsey, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thanks for the great review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. If you are returning, please contact me directly and I'll organise a room with a view of Kilkenny Castle!

Eoghan Dempsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing