We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Nulty's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nulty's Cottages
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Six of us stayed in the restored farmhouse and it felt like a true piece of Ireland. Jean and John were wonderful and supplied a welcome pack with milk, eggs and butter. The house is charming. The kitchen is very small and two people is about the max, but we managed well in it and cooked several meals. We enjoyed talking to Jean when we arrived and then John several times later. Both made us feel very welcomed. We enjoyed watching the horses, especially the new foal. There is a taxi service in Kilkenny that took us into town where we caught the train to Dublin for the day. Great day trip. I would definitely stay again! Thanks to Jean and John for their sweet hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Nulty's Cottages! It was a pleasure to have been of assistance to you, as you were a long way from home. It was wonderful to hear your stories of how you all met all those years ago! We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in Ireland. Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in The Lodge, which could sleep ten in three bedrooms, for six nights while attending our nephew's wedding in Kilkenny. It was a really good base to enjoy everything that Kilkenny had to offer, being about a six or seven minute drive from the city. All the rooms were spotless and the kitchen was equipped with everything we required, We particularly enjoyed the open fire in the lounge area. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JSB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always good to have a wedding party with us at Nulty's. We look forward to havining you back with us when it's warm and sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What a lovely time our family had staying at Nulty's cottages. The cottage we stayed in slept 4... one double room ensuite and one large room with two single beds for the children. All the rooms were spotless and the kitchen and living room were equipped with everything you would need for your break away from home. My Children enjoyed the river walks and fishing with the net! It was a treat to see the new foal that had just been born a couple of weeks previous... John and Jean were great at showing us around and very helpful. I would definitely recommend these cottages if you are wanting a lovely break in the country and yet it isn't too far from Kilkenny city. We as a family are looking forward to visiting again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It was lovely to have you back with us this year, and the weather was wonderful for you. We look forward to seeing you all again soon, fishing nets and all! Jean and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I booked Nultys some months previous for my hen party. Jean was a dream to deal with and was very accomodating. The property is somewhat out of town but we liked this, and the direct line to Seven 7s taxis made getting into town simple. The properties themselves were spacious and extremely clean. There was a large area in one house where we all [16 in total] easily could gather have a drink and bite to eat. There was even a patio area complete with BBQ should the weather have allowed it. The beds were really comfortable too! The houses are set up for large groups and we were delighted to find an abundance of glasses! The setting was tranquil and idylic and we loved the time we spent there, and the cost was so reasonable between the large group. I would definitely reccommend this property and I know there were members of the group who are thinking of taking a smaller cottage for holidays themselves. A gem of a place. There's nothing like waking up to the sounds of the country and seeing foals lolling in the summer sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiatwrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your business, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Nulty's. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Disappointing arrival as "Welcome Pack" which was promised on website was non-existent. When I asked owner he said they had stopped supplying milk as it "went off". A few tired tea bags and a few spoonfuls of stale coffee were provided. Had some Health & Safety concerns: ceiling smoke detector was broken & non existent; there was no fire extinguisher only a holder on the kitchen wall; some floor tiles were cracked & broken; both shower floors slippery with no safety handles. Cottage was in my opinion not 4 Star accommodation - decor was very tired, furniture and fittings of very poor quality, small TV with no Sky. Overall it needs a deep clean and refurbishment to a higher standard.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JOAN783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at the cottages in the "The Lodge" (sleeps 10) for a 2 day break in April 2013. The cottages are set in a lovely location just outside (10 min) Kilkenny city and benefit from a great short walk route along a river bank behind the accommodation. The cottage buildings are clean, well maintained and well equipped to be able to cook breakfast and dinners. We particularly liked the open fires (the first night of fire wood was provided as part of the cost - which was really appreciated) and the direct phone line to a local taxi firm was a handy tool. Throughout the accommodation there was underfloor heating, however, we felt when the fire was not burning the accommodation (kitchen and front room) could be quite cold. In fairness a couple of electric heaters were provided to counter this problem. All our interactions with Jean and John were friendly and helpful whenever needed. I certainly would use Nulty's Cottages again and recommend to others travelling in and around Kilkenny.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hough_john1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at Nulty's,I must admit I enjoy the river walk myself, especially in the lovely sunshine we've been having. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here for a hen night for one night and it was such a beautiful location. We has the main house, the stables and the farmhouse between 21 of us and used the main house to meet up for food and drinks. There was plenty of room for all of us to sit around and the houses were spotless. It took us about 10 mins to go to and from town. The owners are lovely and John made sure that the fire was going in the main house for us and left extra firewood which we really appreciated. Will definitely be back again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank choogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for business, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to having you and your friends stay with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
3.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,865 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,897 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
6.7 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
57 reviews
45.5 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nulty's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nulty's Cottages

Property: Nulty's Cottages
Address: Kirwan's Inch | Dunmore, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While Nulty's Self Catering Cottages are located in the peace and quiet of rural Co. Kilkenny, we are still only a 7-minute drive from Ireland's medieval capital, Kilkenny. Set in 70 acres of grassland, Nulty's is a place where you can plan your own holiday, a relaxing weekend getaway or an action packed activity led adventure break. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing