We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bregagh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bregagh House
Ranked #23 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My daughter and I found Bregagh by passing by. We were warmly welcomed and our room was warm and cozy. The shower was hot and the night was quiet.
Roseanne is one of the warmest people ever and made us feel like part of the family.
She is a beautiful lady and obviously likes people and always has a smile.
She made us a lovely Irish breakfast, and, although we were the only guests staying there, I think she would make you feel as if you were the only people staying there.
Parking is tight, but it's Kilkenny. The whole towns streets are tight, so overlook that as there is so much to see here and so much history.
Thanks, Roseanne!!! Sandy and Merrily

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themightywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
71
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here in November for a night with friends, and I must say that is is Irish hospitality at its best! As I work for a four star hotel in Dublin, even we find it hard to maintain the quality and standards this B&B has to offer. Great beds, great location and good prices

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, had everything I need. Very clean, freshly painted. Perfect location, just a few minutes walk to the very centre of town. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. Go out of their way to take care of their guests while also letting them have their space. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iza p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you want to know what an Irish B and B should be, you need to stay here. We received a warm greeting from Rosanne and were escorted to our rooms. The rooms were clean, comfortable, warm, and I feel plenty of room. My parents were very happy and my dad can be hard to pleased. Parking was provided on site which in Ireland can be hard to come by. Once here, everything in Kilkenny is walkable. You just leave your car. Location, location, location. They recommended a very good restaurant and we had a enjoyable time in Kilkenny. If I make it back to Kilkenny, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the two front upstairs rooms. This time of year, very quiet and they were large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night. It is very tight quarters. We could hardly move in the room. It didn't feel very clean, either. The breakfast was adequate though. Parking is very hard. The space is so small behind the home, it is nearly impossible to get out of the place. I had to be coached out by the owner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely place to stay. We just turned up in Kilkenny and this ws the first place we saw. Couldn't have been better. Lovely and clean, nice comfy room and great shower. Beautiful garden and very nice friendly proprietors. Excellent breakfast, everything was perfect. Loved Kilkenny too and would have liked to stay longer, but there are so many fantasic places in Ireland. We moved on to Enniscorthy which was fantastic too, but much less touristy.

Our 6th cycling tour in Ireland and definitely won't be the last

Thanks for all your hard work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The owners were very friendly and recommended two excellent restaurants and forwarded to my home address a father's day card which arrived after I left. The breakfasts were very good and we found our two days in Kilkenny and the surrounding area very enjoyable. All the sights in Kilkenny are within easy walking distance of this B&B.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.7 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#10 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
0.3 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#29 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bregagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bregagh House

Property: Bregagh House
Address: Bregagh House Dean Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bregagh House is a modern, detached, two-story town house located in the centre of Kilkenny City, opposite Saint Canices Cathedral and within walking distance to all amenities. Bregagh House has been completely re-furnished and re-decorated in the last year. It is a family-run Guesthouse/B&B owned by Mrs Rosanne Brennan, who has over over 20 years experience in the B&B industry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing