We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best B&B in Kilkenny,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bregagh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bregagh House
Ranked #23 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
1 review
“the best B&B in Kilkenny,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

This was a lovely clean B&B. It is in a great location in the centre of location, all the restaurants and shops. The proprietary were very nice and helpful, it is perfectly located in Kilkenny, relatively quiet.
Rudy & Jaky

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudoJaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
71
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

I don't usually write reviews but felt the need to encourage anyone looking for a welcoming, clean, quiet, respectable and ideally located base from which they can enjoy Kilkenny City, then this is the B&B for them. It is located in Irish Town, within a 10 minute walk of the Castle, Shopping areas and Nightclubs. Rosanne and John were exemplary hosts, and although the outside appearances and decor are slightly dated, this was not off-putting. This accomodation is value-for-money, bright, clean, warm and comfortable, and 10 of my friends and family who stayed with me in Bregagh House (not to be confused with Breagagh View!!) were all delighted with this suprising little gem.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtffogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

This is a nice B&B in the wonderful town of Kilkenny. Location is perfect - very close to everything but still quiet. Beautiful garden and sitting area in back. Rosanne and John are wonderful hosts, very helpful for the best sights and places to eat. It is true the rooms are s little small, but for a B&B, Bregagh House ranks on the upper end. People wanting large rooms can pay 3X in a hotel if they want.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SettlerofCatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Booked two rooms. Very small. Twin had a double bed and a single bed so there was no room to move. Showers small and cramped; no soap. TV was tiny and had a bad image. No clock in room; no tissues. two towels put on bed; no handtowels. The parking lot was cramped - this is a problem when full as it was when we were there. The stairs were very steep and small steps. Problem for one of our group. Breakfast was very good. Very noisy during the evening until about 1 or so then it quieted down. We were booked for two days but we changed to one because of the stairs being a problem. Staff tried but this is a limited place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMary01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viriginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

The five of us shared a family room at the Bregagh B&B for two wonderful nights after 10 days of London and Dublin. And while those two cities were enjoyable - Kilkenny was the highlight. All the more so because of the nice accommodations and the helpfulness of John and Rosanne Brennen. The breakfast were wonderful and the kids exhausted themselves running around the backyard.

And of course congrats to the Kilkenny Cats on their 4th consecutive hurling championship!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REDSOXBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Good location, away from city center noise but close enough walk. Good parking. Small room with nothing special about it, but clean. Helpful enough staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeL0veIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

What a disappointment this B&B turned out to be. Rosie was nice enough when we arrived and gave us a nce welcome and a map along with a run down of the things to do in Kilkenny (not much). However, the rooms are very average and the beds are lumpy. It felt like sleeping on a well worn futon from college (and not in a good sense). To top it all off, there wasn't any soap provided for your *very* small shower. Just a bottle of liquid soap screwed into the wall above the sink - which you can't use from the shower. Fortunately, my wife brought along an extra bar of soap just in case and we were fine but others may not be as fortunate. The water pressure and temperature were both good but it was a very cramped shower. We did find the hair dryer in one of the dresser cabinets. The breakfast the next morning was very average with watery eggs and a meager selection for the continental breakfast. It is on one end of town just across the street from St. Canice's Cathederal. However, this isn't a very big town and you can easily walk to the other end in less than 15 minutes. There was free parking at the B&B and the high-speed internet connection (Wi-Fi) was good. The rooms while worn, were very clean. This was definitely a no-frills B&B.

All in all, it was NOT worth the 76 euros we paid for the night. Kilkenny is a very average town and the Kilkenny Castle is VERY VERY over rated. i.e. save your money and check out St. Canice's Cathederal instead, which is vastly more interesting and also has a block and hammer roof. Do this on a stopover through town. This town and this B&B in particular are not worth spending the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.7 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#10 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
0.3 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#29 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bregagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bregagh House

Property: Bregagh House
Address: Bregagh House Dean Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bregagh House is a modern, detached, two-story town house located in the centre of Kilkenny City, opposite Saint Canices Cathedral and within walking distance to all amenities. Bregagh House has been completely re-furnished and re-decorated in the last year. It is a family-run Guesthouse/B&B owned by Mrs Rosanne Brennan, who has over over 20 years experience in the B&B industry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing