We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Fanad House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fanad House
Ranked #12 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My family and I took a 2 week vacation to Ireland from Boston, and Kilkenny was our second stop after Dublin. Due to car troubles, we arrived later than expected. Pat was still there upon our arrival in the early evening. He was welcoming and very helpful with restaurant recommendations (visited both places during our 2 night stay). Rooms were great and big enough to accommodate our large suitcases. Breakfast was plentiful and made to order each morning. The location was absolutely prefect! We wanted to be within walking distance of the castle and city shops and pubs, but not so close so we can't sleep at night. It might have been the spectacular weather we had in early June, but Kilkenny was our favorite stop of our tour of the south coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    70
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
70
95
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay and the hospitality was amazing, second to none. Pat was extremely welcoming and certainly couldn't do enough for us. The room was fantastic and the breakfast out of this world! Also the location is perfect. We will certainly be recommending Fanad House to all we know and we will most definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthmcgik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The welcome from Pat & Treacle was wonderful.

As a frequent visitor to Ireland I have travelled extensively throughout the country and can honestly say there isn't a warmer welcome, a more comfortable bed in a well appointed bedroom or a better breakfast anywhere in Ireland. There is ample parking and for a main road location very quiet at night enabling very jaded travellers a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizemself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great location right across the road from the castle. Pat was very warm, friendly and extremely helpful. He couldn't do enough to make sure your stay was comfortable and was always on hand for any questions. The room was great, clean, tidy and spacious. Did not smell and the linen was clean and fresh. We stayed in a four star bnb the next night and I would rate Pat's bnb better value for money. It is only a short walk to town. Breakfast was terrific and had a lot of parking. Would definitely recommend this place for your stay in Kilkenny. Overall excellent value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Welcome was good. Friendly host. However the room was very disappointing! Musty smell. Bathroom linen left a lot to be desired. Ona towel dirty, another frayed and ragged. Would not stay again. Good location near the centre of kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clionamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymahon, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Pat gives you a great welcome on arrival and can't do enough for you. The breakfast is great and parking is plentiful also. Very close to the Castle and the grounds are beautiful for a walk

Recommended for your next trip to Kilkenny!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Fanad House was my first accommodation on my vacation in Ireland and the quality service and wonderful atmosphere is setting the bar very high for the rest of my trip. Some of the high points are the location, the clean and quiet rooms and the wonderful breakfasts. The B&B overlooks the Kilkenny Castle gardens and is a short walking distance from the town center, providing easy access to all sites and night life spots. It also has plenty of parking and easy access to the environs.

The room was very clean and comfortable, a nice place to rest after a tiring day seeing the sites. Lastly but not least are the delicious breakfasts. Pat the owner provides a sumptuous feast every morning ranging from a full Irish breakfast to lighter fare such as cereal fruit and yogurt. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to all staying the night in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanad House

Property: Fanad House
Address: Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fanad House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing