We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeylodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbeylodge B&B
Ranked #12 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at three B&Bs on our trip and this was my third place choice, but still really good. Rosie was so nice and had no issue we didnt arrive until 9! She gave us an excellent dinner recommendation and we had a great breakfast in the am. The house is a very short walk to town. I personally liked being away from all the hubbub and staying on that side of town. I thought Kilkenny was super cute and can't wait to go back and spend more time there. The one downside is this is a cash only B&B

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennlgamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    37
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
108
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We werde travelling without having booked in advance. As we arrived at Kilkenny we searched a B & B and found this B & B near to St. Canices Cathedral and close to the inner city.

The room was great. Very nice design of the whole house and everything clean, new and very fine. The Breakfast was very good - much fruit and vegetables, cereals aswell as traditional irish breakfast.

The landlady was great, suggested very good things. When we forgot our Ipad-Charger she reminded us and gave it to us. Very, kind.

This B&B is the best we experienced in one week in Ireland. 100 % suggestable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulrike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

we stayed there for two nights and definitely would recommend it to anyone! Rosie was fantastic with giving great information about things to do not only in Kilkenny but which things were worth going to in the rest of Ireland! she was always so pleasant and her breakfasts were GREAT--plenty of choices! It was close to everything so driving was not needed for all the activities in town and it was QUIET at night! Had no problem with the bed as mentioned by others!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klmldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had a great 2 night stay here and would definitely recommend - it's a quick 5-10 minute walk to the city centre and the amenities are all there. Wi-fi was a bit weak but it sufficed for our needs (researching, email, etc.) The breakfasts were wonderful and Rosie was a fantastic hostess! The only downside, and it was a fairly big one, was our queen bed was literally the most uncomfortable one I've ever slept on in my life - it was like laying on a cardboard box on the floor. I only lasted about 20 minute before popping into the bed my daughter was in, making for a tight squeeze but it was the only chance for my sleep. My husband toughed it out and had a sore back for days. :(

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main entrance. Be sure to bring Euros to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nashgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had an excellent stay here. Rosie was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms very comfortable & lovely and warm on a very chilly March weekend. The breakfast was outstanding - wide choice of fruit and cereals and the Irish breakfast was of a high quality. Would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet_and_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The B&B is very cute and settled on a slight incline looking over a futball field..amazing European sight! The room we had was on the main floor, near the door and next to the dining hall. In the morning it was noisy and pretty chilly throughout our stay. I am unsure how close the B&B is to the city center as opposed to other B&B's. Perhaps a 10-12 minute walk from Abbey to the pubs we visited. The woman who runs the B&B, Rosie, is amazing and very helpful. She made our stay!

You must pay in Euro's, credit cards are not accepted (may be the traditional B&B way?) so make sure you cash in hand!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and turn on the hot water as soon as you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkala23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

About 5 minutes from downtown. Rosie greeted us on arrival, gave us plenty of good tips (like Kyteler's Inn), and made us a very nice breakfast. While the place is nothing fancy, seems like a good value and we're happy that we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeylodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeylodge B&B

Property: Abbeylodge B&B
Address: Dean Street | The Watterbarracks, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeylodge Bed & Breakfast is a newly renovated, luxury boutique style B&B situated in a quiet area of Kilkenny's City Centre.Excellant central location - on the same street as st.Canice's cathedral.Just 5 minutes walk to restaurants, pubs & shops.Flat screen t.v.'s, Private Secure Parking,FREE Wifi , FREE bottled water, tea/coffee facilities , hairdryer and iron in all roomsSpecial rates for large groups & for kids under 12.Child friendly: cot, high chair & bottle warmer.Continental breakfast in bed on request.Packed lunch,fresh flowers & newspaper on request.Tourist information guides & Map ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing