We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cafe/restaurant with good fish dishes.”
Review of Cafe Sol Bistro - CLOSED

Cafe Sol Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: CAFE SOL BISTRO KILKENNY uses quality local suppliers and our dishes are prepared fresh daily from the best ingredients. We offer a great value all night menu priced at €25 for two courses and €29 for three courses (some supplements apply). Craft beers and your favourite aperitifs digestifs and cocktails are now on the menu! We welcome customer feedback - please email with any queries you may have. Thank you!
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice cafe/restaurant with good fish dishes.”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Good service. Nice restaurant. Large portions. In the heart of Kilkenny.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goofyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    143
    43
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Va
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had lunch here on a hot summer day. Nice menu. Lovely decor. Attentive service. Great chocolate cake!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant !!!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I had a meal in Cafe Sol once with my partner and it was lovely :)
The food was gorgeous and the wine was great :)
Staff was very attending and friendly as well.
Can't complain at all :)
We'll be back for sure !!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malibugirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very satisfied customer”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Been to Cafe Sol numerous times and yet to be disappointed...consistently good...great food, efficient service and extremely friendly and helpful staff. For dinner, I nearly always go for the steak - always cooked to perfection and comes served with gorgeous roast veg, mash and tasty sauce. Overall, good value for money, and they also operate a rewards program which is great news for us regulars!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Had 2 lunches and 1 dinner here and all were great.

Lovely food, well presented and well cooked. Friendly staff.

Couldn't ask for better.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sol Bistro also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing