We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food excellent staff”
Review of Cafe Sol Bistro - CLOSED

Cafe Sol Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: CAFE SOL BISTRO KILKENNY uses quality local suppliers and our dishes are prepared fresh daily from the best ingredients. We offer a great value all night menu priced at €25 for two courses and €29 for three courses (some supplements apply). Craft beers and your favourite aperitifs digestifs and cocktails are now on the menu! We welcome customer feedback - please email with any queries you may have. Thank you!
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food excellent staff”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

eat this evening at Cafe Sol, the food is so tasty, setting lovely and excellent and friendly staff, highly recommend here, have eaten on a number of times and always going away with the decision to return

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    143
    43
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was just right for us to have a lunch after a long day of flying in to Dublin and then training to Kilkenny. So cozy and refreshing

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank seger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not outstanding”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrive for a latish lunch, so restaurant was quiet. We were welcomed and served promptly. I thought the menu was a bit limited. I had lamb which was not as tender as it might have been and thought the bill a bit over the average. Nothing bad but only average

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner for two on a Saturday evening.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Food top class. Service very good and friendly. 3 course dinner for two plus drinks Eur102 in total.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with large portions”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I ate here on Good Friday. We had been eating pub food for most of our stay and we were very happy with this restaurant. For one thing, the three course meal was wonderful! It was reasonably priced and unlike other fancy restaurants you get a lot of food. The dessert was wonderful and the fish very well cooked with lots of fresh and in season vegetables.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sol Bistro also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing