We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice stop over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinecrest BnB

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinecrest BnB
Ranked #17 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A very nice stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Being two couples in our fifties we were looking for some creature comforts in our choice of B & B's. We found these at Pinecrest when we had the pleasure to stay here in May. Liam was a very helpful host who made us feel most welcome and seemed to have plenty of time for a chat. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and well presented. The breakfast was scrumptious and kept us fully charged until well into the afternoon.

We have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Host Liam was the image of a good host, welcoming us with tea, cookies, chocolate bars, good conversation and good advice. He would never hisitate to sit and chat very intelligently with us in a very pleasant manner. The accommodation was spotless and comfortable, the food choice was excellent and very well prepared by hostess Helen, and host Liam served excellent coffee from a French press right at the table. They are the kind of people I would like to make a part of my life.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

My adult daughter, my adult son, and I stayed at Pinecrest in Kilkenny. Liam and Helen greeted us as old friends and we felt like old friends the entire time we stayed. Liam was a wealth of information. Every afternoon, when we'd return to rest before going out again, we were treated to a pot of tea and more conversation. The food was excellent; the room comfortable and just the right size; the bnb close to the city center but still in a quiet spot. After we left, we traveled to France and then to London and talked about how much we missed Liam and Helen....

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Liam and Helen Heffernan are the gracious proprietors of the substantially sized Pinecrest B and B, located just outside the city center of Kilkenny. If you have the chance to talk with Liam, you will find him just about the friendliest fellow you will ever hope to meet. This may apply to Helen as well, though she was spending more time in the kitchen--and, as it turned out, we were glad about that, as the ample full Irish breakfast she prepared was quite delicious. The room we occupied, on the first floor, was quite sizable and well kept. This included the large bathroom. The trappings in the room are not fancy, but very comfortable. We arrived at Pinecrest close upon dinner time, and Liam provided meticulous directions for driving to--and better yet, finding a parking spot near to--Eaman Langton's Restaurant and Pub in the city center. We surely would be happy to visit Pinecrest again for a longer stay than the overnight we had, while driving north and east from Kinsale into the Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough. Pinecrest (and Kilkenny) make an excellent location for visiting the Rock of Cashel and Cahir as a day trip from Kilkenny.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest BnB

Property: Pinecrest BnB
Address: Bishops Meadows, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest is a small intimate architectually designed family run B&B situated in a quiet cul de sac in the heart of Kilkenny City only a 5 to 10 minute walk to all the historic sites. There is free car parking and WiFi available and guests are greeted with the offer of refreshments, a map of the city and a hearty Irish welcome. Breakfast consists of a buffet with juices, Tea, coffee , porridge and freshly cooked traditional Irish breakfast to die for. Local information is offered to all our guests and no task is too big after all we are here to ensure that all our guests have a most unforgettable experience in Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinecrest Bnb Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing