We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Gur

Attraction details
Minnesota
Level Contributor
261 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is an important site, but is hard to find and requires a lot of uphill walking. Lovely at times, but if the weather is bad...........
Visitors center is well done.
Don't skip something else to come here unless your interest in archeology is really strong.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing place soaked in history and beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I visited Lough Gur in July this year while on holidays with friends from Australia, it was a wonderful
experience. There is a newly renovated heritage center you can visit which provide a historical tour of the artifacts found in Lough Gur lake thousands of years ago, and provide light refreshments. There are many scenic walks to go on with breath taking views. The staff in the center are
very friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable. They will provide you with a map of the
different walks around the locality. If its a scenic walk, or an interest in history or a relaxing day your looking for on your holiday I would strongly recommend visiting Lough Gur and take in the tranquil picturesque surrounding's. Make sure to bring a camera.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I've been to Lough Gur on a number of occasions and always found it to be a beautiful and relaxing place. The lake is fabulous and there is a lovely walk around it. The wildlife is plentiful. The last time I was there, the Heritage Centre had just reopened. They've done a magnificent job with the new exhibit. It's fully interactive and gives a great account of the history of the area. There is even an area were you can pretend to take part in your own archeological dig!! My favourite part was the telling of local myths and legends - storytelling is one of the great talents we have in this country. I highly recommend visiting Lough Gur if you're in Limerick.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank su77oneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating and beautiful place, rich in history and magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

THere are many fascinating historical sites around this lake including ancient tombs, the largest stone circle in Ireland, and more. The small visitor center is well organized and informative. There are wonderful hikes and picnicking in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have been traveling around Ireland for two weeks now and so far this is the best place we have visited. I loved it, history, legends and more. The ladies in the visitor centre certainly added to the enjoyment. Annette you my dear are a credit to the centre and to yourself. Thank you so much for sharing your local knowledge with us Aussies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lough Gur also viewed

Askeaton, County Limerick
 
Bruff, County Limerick
Bruff, County Limerick
 

Been to Lough Gur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing