We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A classic, warm forest cabin away from all the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
96 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

tc g
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A classic, warm forest cabin away from all the noise and distractions.”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

If you looking to get away from it all, this is the place to go.
Whether for bike trails thorough the mountains and hillsides, walking in the forest with your kids or chilling out with a glass of wine in front of the solid fuel stove in the evening, this is a really relaxing place to be. Very well located to discover the south and south west of Ireland, it was our home from home for a week and we really enjoyed it. Get ready to detoxify from all of those noisy gadgets that we really don't need..if you must check your social media, you will have to walk to reception, which is only up the hill..

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thanks Tiernan for a lovely review. You are welcome back any time you need to get away from gadgets and enjoy the world about you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MArk o
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Phone coverage, what a treat”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with family for 3 days and 2 nights in early October, highly recommend it. The kids had a great time in the Forrest exploring, lodges were fab and beds were very comfortable. Faculties all 5 star and cooking equipment was spotless clean and working 100%. Local pub was a stroll away and very welcoming.

The log fire was a huge hit, the main benefit was the silence, We will certainly be back.

Mark

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed your visit to the local. Looking forward to having you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowan H
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Escape the rat race”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second time staying at Ballyhoura Mountain Lodges, and, as before had a great holiday. The location is in a beautiful and peaceful wooded area, and only a short walk to a Ballyhoura forest, where there are miles of walks and exercise stations, if you're feeling energetic. There is an official mountain bike trail centre there, we brought our own bikes, but you can hire them there also. The local people are very friendly and helpful, and there is a small pub just down the road from the lodges. Ita looked after us brilliantly again, telling us of local events, where to shop, places to visit etc. We were lucky with the weather too, and there were only a few showers on our last day.
If you want to unwind for a few days, this is the place to go. We will be back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you for the brilliant comments and hope to see ye back again when ye want to unwind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danX3469S...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good!”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

im writing this review after staying at the lodges, the lodges are quite big and in our case could accommodate up to 6 people, but we had 3, it had one double bed, and 2 twin singles, its quite difficult to find initially,and locals didn't recognise it as ballyhoura, calling it balyorgan the local town,ita the site manager,was both friendly and helpful,especially when an unusual power cut happened, supplying candles and hot water !,working late to help everyone,if you want a quiet log style cabin,with nearby forrest or activity for kids,you'll like it, and its also very quiet despite children around, highly recommended overall, the only annoyance was poor tv reception,on rte one and two,with picture break up,often, and if eating out i recommend the hunters rest in nearby mitchelstown good quality food at good prices!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Hi Dan, Thank you for the comments and again I'm sorry about the long power cut caused by lightening. Glad ye got home safe and relaxed after your holiday. Ita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purcellmo...
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mountain Lodges”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week. The lodges were really lovely and a perfect base to explore the area. Being able to bring our dog to stay with us was a great bonus and being able to bring her in the mountain trails was lovely.
There is endless trails for walking/running and mountain biking and great horse riding nearby at the Ballyhoura treking centre.
Ita was very helpful both on booking and also for local information. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great place to explore the Irish outdoors.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for the review. There is so much to do here, Your whole week can be taken up exploring, horse riding, clay pigeon shooting, Ballyhass and Blackwater activities, Griston bog and more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable well appointed accommodation”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, eldest son & myself spent a long weekend attending a family gathering in a nearby village and the Ballyhoura Lodge was very conveniently placed. The accommodation is well equipped and the beds very comfortable indeed. If visiting the locality in future, we would definitely book a Ballyhoura Lodge again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you Malcolm, we get great compliments on the beds which are supplied by a local company. Hope to see ye back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne D
2 reviews
“Fantastic Rural escapr”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I am just back from the most fantastic weekend at Ballyhoura mountain lodges. I was organising a hen for my sister and we wanted something a little different. And it was fantastic. the houses were perfect and Ita helped with everything including advising on activities and transport. We possibly didn't explore the region as many do but we had amazing craic, and were welcomed everywhere we went. The thatch and thyme did amazing food which we brought in and also went to the restaurant. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a rural escape. A perfect location for a group or a family. I hope to make it back with my kids at some stage as they would love it. It was a delight to feel our custom was valued everywhere we went, and the welcome was second to none. 10 out of 10 for everything

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Delighted ye had a good hen party here and the pictures of the Ballyhoura bake off are great. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.