We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”
Review of Foynes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foynes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foynes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Foynes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Arrived in Foynes last Monday night to join a ship in the local port. As the ship was going to be late we went into the Foynes Inn to wait for it to dock. The couple behind the bar were very friendly and prepared a meal for us ( although the kitchen was closed ) and gave us the access code for the Inn's Wi fi. Food and drink was good and reasonably priced. On leaving the bar, the lady behind the bar offered to take us and our heavy bags down to ship, which was most appreciated. Can't recommend the Foynes Inn highly enough, well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have had the occasion to stay at the Foynes Inn 3 times over 3 years. I highly recommend a stay whether you are a tourist visiting the area or have found yourself in the area on business. As stated in other reviews, the rooms are recently renovated to a very high standard with comfort in mind. The breakfasts are full and I am sure they can accomodate any special request you have. You will certainly be full until your next evening meal. The evening meal menu is understandably downsized as they also run a busy bar, but the offerings include steaks, seafood and smaller bar bites. Kathy and Joe work very hard to please their guests and without wishing to sound corny, they treat you like a welcome family member. Their presence can also be discreet as they are very tuned in to the needs of their guests. The townspeople are very friendly as well and soon recognise you as a guest to their village. Make sure you check out the Foynes Flying Boat Museum.

Room Tip: OK, some rooms are above a bar. If the bar is busy when checking in or likely to be busy Friday or S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gull_Air_ACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Everything about our stay was truly wonderful. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and clean. The on-suite facilities were first class. The breakfast would set you up for the day, full English along with cereal toast tea and coffee.
The evening restaurant offers a varied menu, with everything cooked fresh to your satisfaction.
The staff are truly wonderful.
It is good value for money and first class accommodation.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvTurkeyBedfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Ended up having to work down that neck of the woods for a while and even before I went our operational manager was saying wait and you see the rooms and service you get in the place,he's northern and his expression was they'll kill you with kindness which I found absolutely true.Kathy the owner has spent a lot of money on this place and although noting to look at from the outside wait until you see the rooms.the selection of food is limited but what you do get is excellent ,I've stayed in a lot of places over the years ,this place is special.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danield150769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The strange thing about Foynes is that there is hardly anywhere to stay. We were visiting family in the area and were looking for accomodation of any type but there seems to be an awful shortage in the area. Fortunatey, we were able to get a room in the Foynes Inn but weren't sure what to expect given that they have a virtual monopoly in the area. We received a lovely warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to a fantastic room which fit the 4 of us perfectly (2 adults and 2 children). The whole place was obviously recently decorated. The beds were comfy with duvets (I hate blankets) and fluffy pillows. Bathroom was large and the whole place was spotless. Breakfast was nice but I would prefer a pot of coffee as opposed to a mug and then having to ask for more. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the room but this is a minor niggle and we were offered coffee when we arrived so its not a major complaint. We were given a large box of toys for the kids to play with while we were there which is the sort of personal touch you get in a place like this as opposed to a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A fabulous place to stay. Rooms are lovely - so comfortable and clean. The food is outstanding as are the staff! Cathy and Joe were fantastic! Would highly recommend staying at the Foynes inn. Nothing is too much trouble and you definitely feel at home. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracylav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

On our way back to Shannon from a golf trip to Kerry three of us stopped here for lunch. The food was awesome, the welcome was amazing and the pub is one of the cleanest you could wish to find.i WAS SO IMPRESSED i looked at the rooms in the B&B and will definitely stay there when I return again. The location is beautiful, the whole place is a joy to be in.

Room Tip: They are all good from what I seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foynes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foynes Inn

Address: Foynes Inn Main Street, Foynes, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Foynes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foynes
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing