We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballycannon Lodge

Ballycannon Lodge
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ballycannon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 31 Limerick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and were very satisfied. Good accomodation and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essexspursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
30
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at the Ballycannon Lodge. We had the largest family room we have encountered on our two week vacation in the UK and Ireland. The room slept our family with two teenagers very well. Free internet, free parking and a very reasonable rate. The location is perfect for those heading from Limerick to either the Dingle Penninsula, or the Ring of Kerry. The hotel is just two miles from the very popular Adare, with many pubs and activites, and is just off the main road between Tralee and Limerick.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ronaldjlane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

beautiful place, lovely atmosphere and outstanding hospitality! deserves 5 stars with no hesitation! Service was excellent made us feel at home and such a warm welcoming, highly reccomend this for anyone looking for a peacefull break in the country side, nice scenery and quality traditional interiors!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0dsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
376 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

We were attending a wedding at the nearby expensive Adare Manor and were delighted with our decision to stay at this very reasonably priced B&B / hotel. It was easy to find and is on the N21 main road at the end of the village – there is plenty of easy parking. Our en-suite room (for two) was a very large room which would sleep three. Other reviewers have described the rooms as a bit bare – yes it was but it was clean and well appointed with mirrors, TV, table, chair etc and a good home produced local guide - all you need for a comfortable stay. We were welcomed with the minimum of fuss and given biscuits and fresh milk for tea making in our room. Breakfast is served in the attached Garden Centre and was traditionally Irish – large, good quality and freshly cooked. Free WIFI was available in the hotel, connecting was a little difficult but they soon sorted that out. Adare itself is about five minutes drive away and we were most impressed that the owners offered to drive us to the wedding if we wanted them to so that we would not “drink and drive”. In summary, well worth staying at.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Traveling with family of 5 we got two rooms. . . one for us and the other for our 3 teenage kids). Rooms were immense, by far the largest we stayed in during our entire UK trip. Everything was very clean and Mary was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast (which is off a menu in the restaurant next door) Overall, I think this is an excellent value (we paid 70 euros per room). There is nothing to walk to from the lodge but it is a short drive to the town. My only 'complaint' is that the rooms were somewhat sterile and sparse (no dressers or anywhere to unpack) and there is nowhere in the bathrooms to keep toiletries. Free wifi was nice. Other than that, it was an excellent stop over during our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABrotmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights before Christmas and will definetly be returning. Ideally situated close to the beautiful town of Adare and surrounding Limerick it made a perfect base.
There was ample parking at the hotel and we were warmly welcomed before being shown to our large room which had all the mod cons necessary. The room was quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep before tucking into a great cooked breakfast. One of the real advantages of the hotel was the garden centre and restaurant which are situated next door. This allowed us to spend an afternoon browsing and we enjoyed really good food in the restaurant. All in all good rooms and great service means we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theayrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

love it here, great value for money and for all the places ive stayed in ireland its in my top 3 had a ball staff are brilliant couldnt help you more, great breakfast2 just an all round excellant place to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamhy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limerick
14.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
13.5 mi away
Woodfield House Hotel
Woodfield House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.0 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
13.9 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballycannon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycannon Lodge

Property: Ballycannon Lodge
Address: Ballycannon House Curragh Lodge Curragh Lodge Croagh Village, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballycannon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballycannon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing