We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Ballycannon Lodge

Ballycannon Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballycannon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 30 Limerick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed one night at the Ballycannon Lodge in July and had a good time. We stayed in a triple as there were three of us and it was a very large room. Clean with straight forward appointments. The breakfast is in the restaurant next door. We had to walk through a nursery to get there, however, that was not an issue. The highway has been changed recently, so you get to it off a side road. Need to watch for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

We booked Ballycannon Lodge for an over-night stay on the strength of its reviews: we weren't disappointed. Although initially non-plussed by the locked door on arrival, we soon found our host in the adjoining garden centre. She was very welcoming and quickly brought us to our room and also provided us with two bottles of water and some fresh milk. The room was huge with a very comfortable bed and all the usual ammenities, although the TV was a little small in view of the size of the room. The free WiFi was a boon. The bathroom was clean with a bath and effective shower. The bath was a tad narrow, making showering a slightly claustrophobic experience. There was also a lack of shelf space for toileteries - a minor inconvenience.
The Restaurant/Cafe closed at 6pm, so we took our host's advice and went into Adare, just a few minutes down the road. Here there is a selection of places to eat, including a restaurant and at least two pubs. The pub we chose was very welcoming, but the food wasn't special and neither was the live music!
Breakfast is served in the garden centre restaurant (thankfully it wasn't raining) and was all that you might wish it to be - the full Irish being 'de rigeur', perhaps.
Ballycannon Lodge served our needs very well and, for the price, can hardly be faulted as an over-night stop if you are touring the area. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: No lift to first floor rooms; ask for a ground floor room if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert-T-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Ballycannon Lodge was a welcomed break from a busy day of driving throughout Ireland. When we arrived at the lodge our host Dermot showed us our room and kindly offered tea with warm scones, butter and jam. In all my days of travelling, I have never felt so welcomed at an accommodation.
The rooms are extra large with all amenities that you would require. However, it could do with a little updating.
That evening host Mary recommended a restaurant in town, Dunraven Arms, for supper. The food was outstanding.
The next morning we had a lovely breakfast before bidding farewell to our hosts, who asked us where we were headed and recommended stops along the way.
Overall, I highly recommend this lodge especially for the hosts hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexie2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband, father and myself stayed at the lovely ballycanon lodge for a week and have just returned home and I have to say what a lovely place and what lovely hosts Mary and Dermot were. We arrived quite late on Saturday night but Mary and Dermot had stayed up to welcome us and after showing us around made us pots of tea and coffee to take to our rooms. The welcome they gave us was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very spacious and clean and looked out onto the grounds at the rear of the lodge and the countryside beyond. Very pretty. Breakfast the following morning set the pattern for the week and consisted of fruit juice, tea or coffee, fruit, yoghurt, ceriels, full Irish cooked breakfast and toast with marmalade and jam. The staff were curtious and very friendly and we chatted away with them and Mary most mornings. Nothing was too much trouble and they were happy to help us with directions and advice on places out and about. They also own the garden centre attached to the lodge and this had some lovely organic produce many of which we purchased for presents to bring back. Only a five minute drive from the pretty and historic town of Adare it is perfectly sutuated to do the ring of kerry abd visit many places of beauty. We enjoyed a pint of Guinness and blackcurrant most days on our return from sightseeing. We took our two dogs with us and they too were made very welcome and the grounds and surrounding countryside make for ample walks. We were sad to be leaving at the end of our stay and will be returning in February with more family members and can't wait. The high standard of the ballycanon lodge and the friendliness and service Dermot and Mary provided made our stay in Ireland a very happy one. If you're looking for a clean comfortable and well situated place to stay then look no further as you won't do better than staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We arrived quite late and were warmly welcomed by the friendly owner. Our room was very large and was well appointed. Bathroom was also quite large and was very clean. Breakfast was a liitle impersonal as it was in the adjoining garden centre. Food was fine as was the service. Lodge is nearby to Adare which was a lovely place to visit. We were just passing through but had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieSuzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We prebooked two nights at Ballycannon. The rooms are definitely spacious and the owners are nice but a few words of advice: if you are looking for the quaint village B&B where you can park and then walk everywhere this is not the place for you. They are directly on the N21 and there is a lot of traffic (I think the speed limit is 80 kmh here). They are 4 miles from the nearest town (Adare) and/or restaurant (other than the one run by the owners of the lodge, where the food was decent). Granted, we were coming from multiple days in Dublin and Kinsale and used to walking everywhere and having lots of choices for food, entertainment and picturesque surroundings so this was a let down to us. If you need a easy stopping point, good value and a safe place to sleep, this is a great place but if you are looking for ambience, pay the extra to get into Adare or just keep driving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building or you may hear traffic all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had a family wedding in Limerick ,stayed in Ballycannon Lodge for 2 nights. This is a great place to stay.Very welcoming and friendly owners they couldn't do enough for you.Rooms were beautiful,Breakfast fantastic, close enough to where we needed to be ,Adare Village.
We definitely would love to go back and explore the village and would stay in Ballycannon Lodge again.Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sas1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limerick
14.2 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,015 reviews
13.4 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Woodfield House Hotel
Woodfield House Hotel
#11 of 20 in Limerick
142 reviews
11 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballycannon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycannon Lodge

Address: Ballycannon House Curragh Lodge Curragh Lodge Croagh Village, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Limerick
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballycannon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballycannon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing