We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a very big hotel which is not near Limerick city, so potential guests be warned. Check in was quick, receptionist was friendly, and we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite at no extra chage. There’s free underground parking for residents, and also a leisure centre, including swimming pool and all that goes along with it. We didn’t get the opportunity to use it, but it looked very good. The Maldron have two ‘eateries’ – on the ground floor is the Stir Bistro, which is more like a bar than a bistro. It’s not the sort of place you’d have an intimate meal in as there’s a large screen television blaring out sports, so there are groups of people cheering on different teams, making it far too noisy to enjoy a meal. There is a restaurant on the 1st floor but it is only used as a place to serve breakfast. There is nowhere within walking distance around the vicinity of the hotel where one can have a meal so we took a taxi into Limerick City. Taxi trips cost between €6 and €8 each way. The suite we got was huge and looked out over a landscaped garden, rooms clean and bed very comfortable. It was really quiet and we had a very good night’s sleep. Had to ring reception next morning as there was no hot water in the bathroom at all. The porter came up promptly and showed us where to switch the water heater on. There should have been a notice on the back of the door to explain this without us having to ring reception. It took far longer than the ‘few minutes’ he said it would take to heat up, so we decided to have breakfast first and then come back and shower. There was a great selection of choices for breakfast but the cooked breakfast had one big fault – it wasn’t hot (like the shower), which is not acceptable. By the time we got back to our room the water had heated up, but unfortunately it went cold in the middle of the second person’s shower. This was a big suite suitable for a family, but I wouldn’t like to be trying to sort out showers for children and adults. It’s just ridiculous in this day and age that such a situation prevails in a hotel. Have to admit, we’ve never come across it before as surely an electric shower would be much cheaper to run than heating up a tank of water, which still couldn't supply enough water for two shower. We met the porter on the corridor when we were leaving and he asked us had the water heated up, so we told him what happened. He said he would have it looked into, but it was too late for us, we were heading down to check out. We mentioned it to the girl at the desk as we handed in our room cards but she didn’t seem bothered by it at all. She was helpful to us in other respects though, and check out was as quick as check in. Bed and breakfast for two of us, including a glass of wine on arrival was €47, which was a special online deal, so that in itself was very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We (2 adults & a teenager) stayed 2 nights and were very satisfied. It was ideally located for day trips to the western coast as well as being convenient to visiting friends in Limerick proper.

The teen loved extensive hours the pool, jacuzzi, steam room & sauna were open.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here during a very busy rugby weekend, and have to commend all the staff on their efficency and helpfulness. A special mention to Eileen the lovely friendly receptionist, who was always on hand with advice and a smile :)
We were lucky enough to have nice rooms over lookng the garden area, because of the location of this hotel a lot of rooms overlook a busy main road.
The breakfast was buffet style, lots of variety. The bar food was also very nice, and again, very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmayhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Rooms basic, hard towels and hard to find. There was also a lot of noise at night from a male party that was staying in a room near us. Breakfast nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

nice modern hotel, good service and great facillities
date of trip FEB 2010

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard1967a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. My colleague and I arrived late on Sunday night after a very stressful journey. The staff could not have been more helpful even delaying closing the restuarant so we could get a meal. The rooms were very good. But I will most of all remeber the warm welcome and helpful staff. I have put this hotel into my diary and will be staying again next time I good to Limerick n Business

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pthompson1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Always manage to cheer me up no matter how bad the day. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter, there can be traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericdela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,015 reviews
1.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,685 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Limerick

Address: Southern Ring Road | Roxboro, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the vibrant Limerick city with its many attractions including King Johns castle, the Hunt museum, the treaty stone and Thomond Park to name but a few.The ideal base for day trips to Bunratty Castle , the cliffs of Moher, Ballyhoura, Adare village, and Foynes flying boat museum.For shopping enthusiasts, the hotel is located minutes from the famous Crescent shopping centre and the array of high street city centre stores including Debenhams and Brown Thomas.For those visiting Limerick on business, the Hotel is perfectly located as a meeting point , with direct access onto new motorway systems to Dublin, Cork and Galway.All our bedrooms are designed with business in mind and with 12 dedicated meeting rooms the Maldron is the first choice for many business meetings.The hotel is also located within minutes of the Regional hospital, Raheen business park, Mary Immaculate college, the University of Limerick and the National Technology park.With 143 spaciously designed bedrooms we can offer many choices of accommodation including King, double, triple and family rooms catering for all your accommodation needs.Club Vitae Leisure Club with 20m swimming pool , gym , sauna , Jacuzzi , steam room Extensive dining options including Stir Bar and Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Maldron Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limerick Maldron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing