We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Limerick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Hotel is quite big and requires a bit of walking from the Suites to the Restaurants or the Underground Carpark.The Decor looked a little dated but was very clean and tidy.
Good access via elevators or stairs.Our room was large with a comfortable bed and tidy bathroom.
Located near the motorway for easy travel north or south.
The only negative would be, the close proximity to what appeared to be a Gypsy settlement across the road and noise generated by their activities.
Overall the Hotel was of a high standard and he staff were both friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    199
    121
    48
    50
See reviews for
160
175
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed two night here and it was ideally situated for us to visit Clare as we had planned. I have to say the staff there are one of its best assets. They really are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very nice. The room is clean and a good size. There is a leisure centre with a good pool which was great for entertaining my son when it was raining outside. I wouldn't have said the leisure centre was as well kept as the rest of the hotel in terms of cleanliness. There was a bar which served an OK menu, maybe too many chips with everything. The second night they gave us an activity pack for my 8 year old which was really good. The breakfast buffet was very extensive. The hotel is in a rough enough area, as other posters have commented. But that didn't affect our stay. There is an underground car park that is only access with a hotel room key. I wouldn't have chosen to walk in the area, but then I had a car with us. It does provide a great location to head either to Limerick or to Clare being very near to many of the national routes there. It's very close to Bunratty, which is such a treat to visit. So overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can overhead traffic and noisy traffic lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy_Irish_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

It was 25c outside but must have been 30 plus in my room. No aircon and windows that only open a few mm. Madness! How is anyone supposed to sleep in these conditions.
It's quite a nice hotel otherwise. Good value food in the bar and a generous breakfast included in the €66 a night. I would use again but perhaps not on a hot day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good deal - 2 person 2 night B&B with 2 evening meals - E214 total.
Hotel needs updating. Old-style TVs in bedrooms. Rooms OK - lobby dull and boring.
Room and bathroom very clean.
FREE WiFi. Free parking.
Staff at front desk and maintenance very friendly and helpful. Although ... on check out I told the girl at reception about problem with water in the bathroom and she said "Sorry about that" and walked away from the desk and ME as quickly as possible!
Not a very nice area. But supermarkets, off license and fast food locations 1 minute walk away.
Dinner served in bar. Food very good. Service very good and fast.
Breakfast served in upstairs restaurant. Buffet / average. On second morning only one person working in dining room. The only table available when we arrived was not clean or set up. There were clean tables in the other half of the dining room but it was blocked off by a 'barricade' of two chairs.
Bedding: Quilt on bed, over fitted sheet. No top sheet! Room was quite warm. It was either warm quilt or nothing!! Should be a light blanket available, plus extra pillows (in room). Although ... was told at check in that extra towels and pillows could be requested. But there should be more towels in bathroom in my opinion.
Problem with water in bathroom. NO cold water. HOT water coming out of cold taps AND toilet cistern!! Scalding hot water in shower. Unable to rinse off! Called front desk and they moved us to another room. BUT the same thing happened the next morning before we checked out.
Good value for money but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyinmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We found this hotel kind of by accident, but so glad we did. We stayed there 2 days in July when the temperatures were high. They have a pool which was super fantastic...fairly close to downtown...approximately a 20 minute walk...across the street from a grocery store. It was great value for the money, was fantasticlly clean. The had music in the lounge, The Celtic Whiperer, which was great. The staff was super friendly. I would highly recommend it to anyone...and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nursequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

There is a reason why this hotel offers low rates compared to others in Limerick. The place itself is nice: clean, modern and the staff are friendly and helpful. But, and it's a very big but, the Maldron is situated alongside Limerick's most notorious housing area. Indeed, local friends expressed amazement that a. Anyone thought it was a good idea to build an hotel there and b. That we were staying in it.
And it's not just the people we know who take this view, we were strongly advised by staff not to leave our hire car in the parking area outside reception for fear of what might happen to it. It may be cheap but it's not very cheerful around the Maldron.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limerick hotels

roscommon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I chose hotel as had carpark,but did not realise location of hotel in limerick,was pestered outside for spare change and when a gentleman fell outside hotel enterance(possibly drunk),staff just looked from window and did not appear to help.Hotel room was ok,but could do with extra pillow.Television could do with text facility.Bathroom was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Limerick

Property: Maldron Hotel Limerick
Address: Southern Ring Road | Roxboro, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the vibrant Limerick city with its many attractions including King Johns castle, the Hunt museum, the treaty stone and Thomond Park to name but a few.The ideal base for day trips to Bunratty Castle , the cliffs of Moher, Ballyhoura, Adare village, and Foynes flying boat museum.For shopping enthusiasts, the hotel is located minutes from the famous Crescent shopping centre and the array of high street city centre stores including Debenhams and Brown Thomas.For those visiting Limerick on business, the Hotel is perfectly located as a meeting point , with direct access onto new motorway systems to Dublin, Cork and Galway.All our bedrooms are designed with business in mind and with 12 dedicated meeting rooms the Maldron is the first choice for many business meetings.The hotel is also located within minutes of the Regional hospital, Raheen business park, Mary Immaculate college, the University of Limerick and the National Technology park.With 143 spaciously designed bedrooms we can offer many choices of accommodation including King, double, triple and family rooms catering for all your accommodation needs.Club Vitae Leisure Club with 20m swimming pool , gym , sauna , Jacuzzi , steam room Extensive dining options including Stir Bar and Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limerick Maldron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing