We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
dublin
1 review
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

my husband, daughter and I stayed at this hotel in oct 08. Whle clean, some of the staff were quite rude and offhand. In reception we witnessed the receptionist being rude to a customer in front of other guests.
While we were having an evening meal, kitchen staff were shouting and arguing. The meal was barely edible.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annie286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    200
    122
    49
    50
See reviews for
164
175
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

I stayed at the Maldron Hotel Limerick (formerly the Quality Hotel)for 3 nights in mid-September with a party of friends - 14 of us in total.

The rooms were immaculate, beautifully designed and tastefully decorated. Tea, coffee etc was provided and there were ALWAYS enough towels in the bathrooms without having to ask for extra - as it was a party of women that in itself was good!

However, it was the service we received throughout our stay which was amazing and which makes this 3 star hotel 5 star value in my opinion. From the reception staff, to the bar staff, and especially to the restaurant staff, nothing was too much trouble for them - Silvana Porretta, the restaurant supervisor, was especially fantastic at her job; she made us feel special, very welcom and at-ease throughout our stay. I don't know what she gets paid but in my opinion it's not enough!

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Liked — the spacious and well-decorated, very clean rooms
  • Disliked — the location and views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

I stayed there once with my husband celebrating our anniversary, i was really happy with the room. reception upgraded us to the suite as they new about our anniversary. it was really nice surprize. The suite was really spacious and comfortable, we enjoyed the big pool and relaxed athmosphere, in general really nice place...

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

Only here for one night, but wouldn't go back. Hotel is very new and modern, however it's location leaves alot to the imagination. The hotel is surrounded by council estates and has a halting site situated near by. Car left at owners risk in carpark....

Hotel itself was very clean and bed extremely comfortable, however there were a few small things that tainted our stay -

1) Staff in the Hotel Spa did not appear very experienced and it all seemed a bit awkward when I asked for a pedicure. Also, front desk (in the spa) were not aware of their weekly specials, so tried to charge me full price! Need to have your wits about you.
2) Ordered room service and salt and pepper sellers were empty. Small matter, but unnecessary oversight by kitchen staff.
3) Plug stopper in bathroom sink did not work.
4) Pedestal bin in bathroom did not work.
5) No fan in bathrooms.


Front desk were extremely professional and helpful, however purely based on location I wouldn't be rushing to go back there.

  • Liked — Comfort of Beds
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Found the hotel easy enough as it is just off the roundabout on the main Dublin road. However, there are clearly problems on the outside with people on the roadside. Check in was efficient. All the staff are fantastic. All Limerick lasses that we dealt with and so friendly. The girls couldn't do enough for you at reception, bar or restaurant. The pool staff are lovely. The room was a bit warm but we didn't spend much time there really. I went with my mam and little boy. We had a good time there and it is nice really, only when you are in your room at night, it can be a bit rowdy outside with the traveller kids up and down the steps of the hotel with their bikes. there is an underground car park so your car is very safe. Bottom line is exterior is not nice but the interior and staff lovely.

  • Liked — Staff lovely and leisure centre nice
  • Disliked — The Exterior
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

I stayed here twice.

All credit to the hotel on the fact that they have a nice hotel with average food with helpful staff.

Its a new hotel so you can expect modern, clean functional rooms whereby the test of time has not run its course of the quality of accomodation. There is a good gym, however, it is open to the public and is a very good price so is very very busy after 5pm. There is carvery served during the day in the bar which is only average and service is slow.

The hotel is in a terrible location. It is not central and located within a dangerous deprived council housing area. There are 4 council estates surrounding the property. There is also a gypsy halting site located directly across the road. Parking is at your own risk and even though you may park in the underground car park, they have broken through the vents into this area.

Walking outside the hotel is seriously not advised, even walking the 20 minute walk to the city centre during daylight hours.

Its a nice hotel, nice staff and suitable for an overnighter, certainly not a longer stay.

The price you would expect should be competitive, however, there are better located hotels with similar prices and facilities in much better locations.

In this price range I would recommend the Clarion, Absolute hotel, Jurys Inn, Glentworth.

  • Liked — Clean and Modern
  • Disliked — Local Crime
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Co. Mayo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

I stayed in this hotel when it was very busy, booked out with a few large sporting events in Limerick.

I thought that the hotel was fantastic, and the view up through the reception and the circular was impressive. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The reception staff were pleasant, efficient and professional.

Two thinks let this hotel down badly. The noise of a heater or air conditioner outside the room made quite a bit of noise, and I found it hard to get to sleep.

Breakfast was a farce. When I arrived, I attempted to get two breakfasts prepared for myself and my wife, who was to arrive a couple of minutes later. There was very little food available, and when I enquired of the staff would there be any more brought out (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc), they were quite short and rude. They said there would be more, but had no idea when. I got two galsses of orange juice, toast, and took some of what food was left. I then got tea, and some cereal. However, amazingly, the staff said they don't use trays in the restaurant. Therefore, I had to make six trips from the service area to my table. By the time I sat down with my wife to eat, the breakfast was cold. I found the staff to be very unhappy, and extremely unhelpful, unlike the staff in other areas of the hotel. Such a shame that the final interaction with the hotel was so poor.

Generally a fantastic hotel, and great value. Carparking is in a secure undergroud carpark, so the fact that the hotel isn't in the best part of Limerick shouldn't concern you.

Just skip the breakfast!!!

  • Liked — Great Room
  • Disliked — Restaurant Service at Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
2.3 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Limerick

Property: Maldron Hotel Limerick
Address: Southern Ring Road | Roxboro, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the vibrant Limerick city with its many attractions including King Johns castle, the Hunt museum, the treaty stone and Thomond Park to name but a few.The ideal base for day trips to Bunratty Castle , the cliffs of Moher, Ballyhoura, Adare village, and Foynes flying boat museum.For shopping enthusiasts, the hotel is located minutes from the famous Crescent shopping centre and the array of high street city centre stores including Debenhams and Brown Thomas.For those visiting Limerick on business, the Hotel is perfectly located as a meeting point , with direct access onto new motorway systems to Dublin, Cork and Galway.All our bedrooms are designed with business in mind and with 12 dedicated meeting rooms the Maldron is the first choice for many business meetings.The hotel is also located within minutes of the Regional hospital, Raheen business park, Mary Immaculate college, the University of Limerick and the National Technology park.With 143 spaciously designed bedrooms we can offer many choices of accommodation including King, double, triple and family rooms catering for all your accommodation needs.Club Vitae Leisure Club with 20m swimming pool , gym , sauna , Jacuzzi , steam room Extensive dining options including Stir Bar and Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limerick Maldron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing