We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay in but minor issues may frustrate some.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot to stay in but minor issues may frustrate some.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just back from a very nice stay in 1 pery square. Staff were fantastic. So welcoming and friendly. Spa is wonderful - relaxing, soothing and massage I had was world class ( thanks rachel).

The rooms were very large and relaxing. We stayed in the Moore room which had an incredibly comfortable, if somewhat unusually short bed. My poor feet were dangling over the edge all night - but I am a very tall man. The shower could be best described as Katie Perry ( Hot and Cold ). It didn't like to maintain a consistant temperature and so went from mildly warm to scorching hot and back again But the bath was lovely.

We ate one meal in the restaurant and we found the food to be excellent as was the wine. However, some guests may feel a little aggrieved at having to pay for bread. It's only a little thing but most restaurants of this calibre would never charge guests for bread.

Breakfast was good. Home made granola was excellent but full Irish was not. It was simply far too greasy. The little pastries and scones made up for it though.

The decor throughout the hotel is nothing short of exquisite and it is a great location in limerick. Very central.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flanagw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for your feedback we will certainly take it all on board. Hope you can come again soon & thank you for choosing NO 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    124
    37
    18
    15
See reviews for
129
485
41
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for one night for a mixture of business and relaxation and were wonderfully cared for from the moment we arrived. The bedroom was pretty and very comfortable, with a very generous bathroom.
We decided to dine there that evening, and were delighted we did. The food was delicious (ham hock terrine with citrus piccalilli was spectacular) and service and wine advice from Juan was impeccable. We were recommended some beautiful wines for our menu choices. They were so good we purchased a bottle when we checked out from the in house wine room.
Breakfast was also great; tempting buffet with our hot food cooked fresh.
I used the thermal suite while my poor husband had to work, and was very happy to steam, sauna and read in the relaxation room!
The staff in this hotel provide a faultless service. Everyone, from the time that we were welcomed at reception when we arrived (by Terri, I think) was friendly, thoughtful and happy to do whatever they could to help their guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireR_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
THank you for creating such a great review, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having stressed for months about ways to celebrate a significant birthday, the staff at the No 1 Pery helped me to do this in style with the minimum effort and the maximum results. I had a really lovely evening with family and friends in the intimate setting of their beautiful upstairs drawing room, with logs on the fire and candles, we had delicious finger food and wine and with lots of comfortable armchairs and couches we could all mingle and chat at our ease. It was like a party at home with none of the hassle, and everyone remarked on what a special night it was. I cannot recommend every aspect of my dealings with this little gem of a hotel highly enough, they are simply excellent in every possible way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiteflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
THank you for your lovely words, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went to my friends wedding here last week. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very professional especially the little Spanish dude that served us. The Guinness was not great but we leave that pass. Food was amazing overall even if my steak was covered in some green concoction that was awful i ate around it!. If you want professional service and friendly atmosphere go here. Thanks for a great day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limericklegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for all your lovely comments on our food, staff and the great drawing room. Its a very special room for all occasions but especially small ceremonies and weddings. It was indeed a lovely wee wedding and what a great couple. Sorry to hear you didn't like the Sauce Vierge , not everyone palate but what the bride wished for. Hope to see you back again soon, try out our great Bernaise @ Brasserie One. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We visited here for a weekend break, on 23rd, 24th & 25th March. We were all set for a quiet, relaxing, pampering weekend and that was exactly what we got. Reception staff were very nice and friendly and the room was fine. ( Not very spacious but well decorated and very comfortable. The rooms ar not 'numbered', instead they are named after famous Irish Literary persons; we were in the Wilde Room.) The restaurant, on the 1st floor was perfect and the menue was very acceptable. Breakfast was the usual buffet affair but the extra 'quality' was discernible. The location (just off the Crescent, at the end of O'Connell St) is perfect for shopping. Pery Square, after which the hotel is named, is a nice Georgian type green, just across from the hotel.
The spa is located in the basement and the layout/design was dictated by the shape of the building. This resulted in a bit of a 'mish-mash' in the design of the 'thermal suite'. (the sauna is around the corner from the rest of the facilities and the setup just didn't seem to flow. The treatment rooms were lovely and the treatments, while not cheap, were very good.

Room Tip: Car parking is available, down a lane, across from the hotel. There is an intercom system linked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Hope to see you again soon and delighted to you got to enjoy the spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at One Pery Square for one night. It was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. From arrival to departure, the staff were so friendly and genuinely welcoming, and the building itself and it's facilities are fantastic.

On arrival we were brought to our room personally. The room was not the biggest I was ever in, but perfectly adequate, it also had a lovely sized bathroom. The floor to ceiling Georgian windows bring a lot of light into the room. The room we had was a mix of old and new, so I wouldn't describe it as "old World" more, best of old and new - modern but classic. The bathroom had a seperate bath and shower which is not the norm these days. Beds was vey comfortable.

Later, when we had a snack in the bar, there was another very friendly lady serving us, she told us about the history of the house, and asked would we like to see the Drawing room upstairs. A fully restored period example, where they have small weddings and other private functions.

Onto the thermal Spa, you can put on the robes in your room and go straight down to the Spa. When the lift door opens, you are greeted by a long corridor lit by floor lanterns, it's the perfect mood setter as you exit the lift. We enjoyed the various rooms, steam room, herbal cocoon, sauna etc. My wife went for a massage while I had a look around the general area.

The hotel is across the road from a nice little park, and allthough the area is quiet, it is just a few minutes walk to the start of Limericks main O'Connell Street(South western end). Just a few hundread yards away is Souths pub, which I would highly recommend. Lovely mix of old and new, some of the Angelas Ashes film was shot there I believe. Basically you are very close to everything here, and don't have to put up with the usual city centre noise.

We did not have dinner at the hotel, being already booked elsewhere, but on our next visit we will have dinner in the hotel, the menu looked superb.

After dinner and a few Limerick pub visits, we headed back to the hotel to the small but cosy hotel bar. We were talking to the very friendly receptionist, who was going off duty. Mike the night manager came on duty and he was really entertaining with stories etc.

Breakfast was served to your table apart from Cereals and juices. Unusual selection of hot breakfasts, and they have everything you would want from the usual full Irish to Eggs Benedict, Kidneys and Kippers.

Overall i was so impressed by the hotel experince I had to write a review. People can be very quick to criticise relatively minor issues at hotels, but it's as important to praise when a hotel gets it right, and Pery Square have a truly unique product and they have got it - perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
WOW, you have certainly done us proud, thank you from myself and all our committed hardworking staff for such a great review. Most of all we are happy you had such a good time in our company. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My mother, sister and I went on a one night girlie getaway to No. 1 Pery Square and from beginning to end it was great!

We began our day with early check in (swiftly arranged by phone call in advance of our visit) and then down to the spa to use the thermal suite. We all got treatments and they were absolutely heavenly with all girls being friendly and professional. As it was Tuesday the place was quiet enough for us to make use of the facilities by ourselves and we were left undisturbed to enjoy the thermal suite.

After our treatments we went back to our rooms where we were given a glass of bubbly each to enjoy. We were staying in the Penthouse and Stephens rooms which were situated on the top floor with views over the city and the park. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and the décor tasteful.

That evening we ate in the restaurant in the hotel and once we were seated the waiter patiently walked through the menu with us proficiently answering all questions we asked. The setting was intimate (and beautiful) and the food was divine.

We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar before going out and after coming back from our night out. The bar was lovely and the staff was genuinely interested in how our evening went.

After such a busy day we all slept really well in the very comfortable beds before going for breakfast in the morning. Kathleen served us breakfast and was keen to hear how our night had been and the service was fabulous.

The next day we were offered late checkout and use of the thermal spa which we couldn't avail of but we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay in the hotel. All staff we met was just a pleasure to talk to and made what was already a very good stay into an amazing stay away. I loved my all too brief visit to No. 1 Pery Square and I look forward to returning soon. As I said to the staff when we were leaving it was like calling in to stay at a friend’s house with the warmth shown to us by all we met in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other readers , delighted you enjoyed your time and hope to see you back in Limerick one day soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,463 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa

Property: No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Address: The Georgian Quarter | Pery Square, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#1 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#4 Family Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel Limerick
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing