We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection! A real taste of true Irish hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection! A real taste of true Irish hospitality!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful No. 1 Pery Square for 2 wonderful nights.

After negotiating the roads around Limerick city (many of which are one way) we found the hotel but continued to drive around for another few minutes trying to locate their car park. We gave up and decided to go in to ask. I was greeted by a lovely lady at reception who very helpfully came to the front door and directed me to the secure car park (as it turns out, the hotel car park is down a side street/ally - we would never have found it without the assistance of hotel staff).

After parking we returned to check-in, but unlike most hotel chains, there was no signing sheets or providing credit card details (although our stay was prepaid). Instead the lady just handed us our room key, and continued chatting with us. She was more interested in ensuring that we felt welcomed and relaxed rather than faffing about with paper work. After taking us to the lift (and carrying some of my luggage, which she insisted on), we were given a little history of the hotel and some of the information on the rooms, breakfast, etc. We were told that once we were settled in our room we were to come back to reception where she would provide tea and coffee for us after such a long journey (she also offered to bring it to our room if we wanted privacy).

When we returned to reception, the lady showed us into the Park Room, and brought us a very welcome tea, coffee, scones and jams (all lovely!). Even though she appeared to be the only member of staff around and she was very busy answering phones, seeing to other guests, and making tea and coffee, nothing was too much trouble. She was cheerful, friendly, chatty and efficient in what was a very busy afternoon period. (I'm sorry that I didn't get her name)

Later on that evening we met another girl at reception, who recommended a local restaurant for food (it was a Monday night, so the hotel does not serve any food other than breakfast on a Monday). Her local knowledge of restaurants was excellent and we had a great night out. Then on our return, she offered a night cap in the Park Room which was hard to refuse as it was like staying at a friend's house!!

Breakfast the next morning was fabulous. We were greeted by the lovely Kathleen who informed us about all the foods available on the buffet table - delicious spiced pears, organic yogurts, homemade breads, and the most incredible honey. This was followed by a cooked breakfast from the chef. We both opted for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - beautiful!

Kathleen was full of interesting information on the local area and people, and gave us suggestions for our day ahead. She was friendly, thoughtful and kind. Truly gifted at her job and attentive to all the guests needs, yet still having a personal touch.

We also got an opportunity to talk with the chef as we had inquired about some of the foods used at breakfast - he was extremely helpful and courteous, with an obvious passion for well sourced quality food.

During our stay we treated ourselves in the hotel spa to 2 treatments each: hot stone massage and reflexology. We also had use of the thermal suite in the spa. Whilst this is not the best thermal suite we have ever used (primarily due to the fact that we prefer water features in a thermal spa, such as a hydrotherapy pool, vitality pool, etc, so we missed these), the ambiance of the spa was lovely and relaxing, with beautiful, natural decor. Also, the 2 therapists that performed our massages and reflexology were friendly and pleasant.

On the Tuesday evening we dined at Brasserie One (the hotel's restaurant). What a stunning and fabulous meal! The presentation of every course was beautiful, with a taste that was even better! There were not many diners in the restaurant (although, as it was a Tuesday evening this was not surprising), but that allowed for an intimate dining experience, and the waiter was very attentive and efficient. A wonderful fine dining evening!

We stayed in the "Swift" room of the hotel - all the hotel bedrooms are named after Irish writers or poets - a very quaint and intriguing idea. It has the impression of making your guest room seem more like a suite rather than just another numbered bedroom - very clever! Our room was indeed very well appointed, with luxurious fabrics and furniture all in keeping with the Georgian theme/feel of the hotel. The bathroom with its separate bath and shower, was also very appropriately finished and had a lovely calming feel. The bed was so large and comfy and made for 2 great nights sleep.

All in all, a perfect relaxing break in Limerick city! Wonderful staff and gorgeous surroundings. No. 1 Pery Square is most definitely a taste of true Irish hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely words and acknowledging the staff who care so much about each and every guest. Look forward to seeing you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    124
    37
    18
    15
See reviews for
129
485
41
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at No 1 Pery Square.. have stayed in many hotels etc..but this was
one of the best..all the staff were so obliging, and nothing was too much trouble, rooom was
lovely and warm, beds fantastic, and the shower was the rainfall type...so good. Breakfast
was cooked to order, and plenty of choice of fresh fruit & juices..and a late check out, what more could one ask for...Many Thanks from the 2 'Mullingar Ladies'

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We aim to be be No 1 and thank you for recognising this. Delighted you enjoyed your break away to Limerick and we shall see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here recently. The No. 1 Pery was exceptional in their service and hospitality. I was in the Townhouse Suite and if you are able too, I highly suggest booking this room. The view is awesome! If you have read the book or seen the movie "Angela's Ashes", the hotel is located in the middle of Frank McCourt's Limerick (the neighborhood is now upscale). You are close to O'Connell Street so shopping is not too far. It is a nice walk to King John's Castle. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank cy_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
THank you for visiting No 1 and taking the time to explore Limericks Georgian quarter. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

we stayed last night , Everthing was 110% from the minute we walked in the door . The food is excellent and the staff were extremely helpful.The whole envoirment is very relaxing. Thanks Kathleen and Andy for a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
THank you for choosing No 1 and we look forward to welcoming you both back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

2013-01-01
The Shelbourne Hotel gives us a well needed New Years gift, a complimentary 2 hours extra sleep in before check-out. We jump into the our rental car and enjoy our way through the gorgeous landscape towards the city of Limerick near the West coast of Ireland. It is like driving through the clouds as the sun is starring us right in the eyes and beautiful valleys come deep high and often. The vision we had of this green spell bounding Irish landscape is spot on and even more amazing in real life, apart from us expecting cold rains we get sun and plus celsius degrees. An extra little bonus is the big Manchester United following in Ireland, as that was the game they broadcasted live on the radio. What a perfect result it was to go with the entertaining drive with each other. A mighty 4-0 win over Wigan.

Limerick City was the next stop and after a 2 hour drive we check-in to the award winning No 1 Pery Square Town Boutique Hotel in the old historic part of the town with 20 rooms opposite a grand old church. We feel the history and heritage in the air. We are met with a lovely reception with lots of good information about the history of the town and what to do in and around Limerick. It makes us instinctively feel that we want to stay longer, as we are only staying the night before we ahead of on more very interesting points to visit. This 4 star hotel offers an award winning Irish Organic Spa and a romantic restaurant with brilliant service and a personal warm touch. The warm atmosphere here changed both our tired souls from last nights celebrations and next up is quality red wine, terrific food and service. Chatting away about this remarkable impressive trip makes us forget about time at the very charming Brasserie One Restaurant, it was time to call it a night and get snugged down in this lovely Georgian period hotel with the best atmosphere and accommodation up to now.

2013-01-02

After a good nights sleep, one of the very pleasant staff meets us in the reception and shows us to our table for breakfast. The sweet Cathy makes a la minute breakfast for the guests, Peter goes with the Irish breakfast while Lisa chooses the pancakes with both dishes turning out very fresh and tasteful. The No 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa also serve us the best breakfast up to now during our trip to Ireland. After a good friendly chat with the staff we take off towards the Cliffs of Moher. The fog lyes over the valleys and the mountain tops while we make our way towards one of Irelands biggest tourist attractions.

Room Tip: They all seem fantastic and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
THank you for your review, Limericks georgian quarter is special and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Always wanted to try this hotel. Stayed last week on a one night 'groupon' b & b deal. Well, I was very impressed, its such a lovely stylish hotel in a very nice part of Limerick. Terry the receptionist is a treasure, so helpful and welcoming. She brought my car to the secure, free car park for me, nothing was too much trouble. Staff are so helpful here.

We were given the poet 'Heany' room, lovely bright airy big and comfortable room with sunshine streaming in through the full wall of window, very nice on the freezing cold March day. No noise we slept like babies in our comfy double bed.

Breakfast was excellent, great selection of wholesome home-made fare.
We will definitely be back for more pampering at this lovely understated elegant hotel.

Room Tip: Heany room, was perfect for us, big bright and sunny, overlooking the street, but quiet at night. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oasisvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night for our anniversary. After doing a turf man challenge, bungee jumps, and other activities for the last 2 days we were weary tired travellers. As we were running late, I rang ahead to change dinner reservation, this was no problem at all. Then when we arrived, the very friendly girl on reception (Niamh i think), informed us we were entitled to late checkout as part of our pigsback deal - MUSIC TO OUR EARS!!!
The room was perfect, also being quite short I nearly needed a ladder to get on the bed! We didn't have a view, but that didn't bother us. The bathroom was huge with a fab bath and separate shower.
Dinner was amazing - beetroot salad and duck parfait to start, followed by pork and cod and a cheese board to finish. Delicious food and very reasonable!!
We both opted for pancakes for breakfast - the BEST I have EVER tasted!!
Then we went down to check out the thermal spa - we were left waiting at reception for ages and it was a bit of a let down in comparison to other thermal spas I have been to, however a pleasant experience.
I will definitely be back for the bed and the pancakes!!! Will be keeping on eye for more deals on pigs back! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,910 reviews
0.6 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,465 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa

Property: No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Address: The Georgian Quarter | Pery Square, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Limerick
#1 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#4 Family Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel Limerick
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing