We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hostel”
Review of Ballyhoura Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballyhoura Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hostel has to be seen to be believed - defo the best I have ever stayed in and describing it as a 'hostel' does not do it justice. Sauna, Lounge (with Sky Sports and a fireplace!), comfy beds, great showers, great kitchen, super hosts... I could go on. Set up perfectly for biking with secure lock up, bike washing facilities and a drying room but also perfect for anyone that fancies a walk in the hills. Defo going back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DominicFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks so much for that great review and we hope to see you again soon. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay here in July 2014. The location is idyllic and there is so much to do on the doorstep. The hostel accommodation itself can only be described as luxurious, comfortable and impeccably clean and we were made feel completely at home during our stay. I look forward to my next stay here, as two days were simply not enough and cannot thank Seamus and Teresa enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieTherese043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to have you down here again and that you will have more time the next time to enjoy yourself. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Spent a weekend in July at Ballyhoura hostel with a group of friends. Being from Limerick city, I could not believe this hidden gem was in my own county. The best hosts you could ask for. Friendly, helpful and constantly went out of their way to ensure we had the best of times. Cool, stylish wooden furniture, cleanest hostel ever been to, great showers, comfiest bed and of the course the Fußall table !!
Went biking, clay pigeon shooting and hit the pubs of Kilfinane. Looking forward to my next stay and would recommend to anyone. Thanks Seamus and Teresa:-)

Room Tip: Stayed in 14bed dorm and had the best of sleeps so would not worry, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed your time here with us so much. The foosball table is still going well, I'm even getting better at it myself! Hope to see you here again sometime, it was a pleasure to have you!. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend mountain biking at Ballyhoura. Very spacious, clean and tidy accommodation with secure bicycle storage and off street parking. Centrally located so just a very short walk to the supermarket and pubs. This is an excellent facility if you are taking part in outdoor activities in the area.
Lloyd

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you in Ballyhoura Hostel again sometime. Kind regards, Teresa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I absolutely loved my stay in this hostel. The hosts Seamus and Teresa are the kindest of people and they treated us like royalty for the weekend. The hostel itself is beautifully decorated with everything you could ever need. The sauna was particularly appreciated after a day of cycling in the beautiful Ballyhoura hills, as was the open fire in the gorgeous lounge area. This hostel is extremely well equipped, comfortable, clean and also a lot of fun! Ballyhoura itself is also beautiful and the local people very friendly. The countryside alone is worth the visit, beautiful rolling hills, forests and rivers. I would highly recommend doing the mountain biking and also the clay pigeon shooting, all of which can be easily arranged through the hostel. Thanks Seamus and Teresa for a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Every room is clean, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank awalsh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks so much for your excellent review and we are delighted you enjoyed the hostel, the activities and the locals so much! We hope to see you down here again! Thanks, Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed three nights as I was walking the FeiSheehyChallenge over the Comeragh, Galtee and Knockmealdown mountains. This hosteL is a hidden gem and has everything you require. The hostel is spotless with a Communal lounge room, kitchen, dining room, showers, sauna, toilets and a great drying room. There is also a fantastic gated private parking area. I can not rate this hostel high enough and I will certainly be recommending Kilfinane, Ballyhoura to all I see. I

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulsterpooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Owner at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks for spreading the word. I thought building this hostel was a challenge but to be fair nothing in comparison to what you hiked in that 3 day period, you're some man for one man! See you when you're down this way again, take care, Séamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for value for money then look no further. The standard of finish to this hostel is the best I have ever seen and trust me I have stayed in my fair share. Clean rooms with comfy beds are just what is needed after a day out biking the beautiful Ballyhoura hills. Kitchen facilities are well kitted out, loads of showers and bathrooms so never a queue. A super cozy sitting room with open fire makes for a great place to unwind. Owners are old school Irish hospitality and went as far as loaning us money to go for beers as we were too late to use ATM in local shop. Can't rate this place highly enough. We definitely return

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rleddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Owner at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks for that words, more than glad to help you out so you could enjoy a few pints, very important after a day in the hills!! See you again sometime. Séamus and Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limerick
21.9 mi away
Pery's Hotel
Pery's Hotel
#19 of 20 in Limerick
453 reviews
22 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,572 reviews
22.7 mi away
Woodfield House Hotel
Woodfield House Hotel
#11 of 20 in Limerick
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#14 of 20 in Limerick
485 reviews
5.1 mi away
Deebert House Hotel
Deebert House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmallock
163 reviews
21.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyhoura Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyhoura Hostel

Address: West End | Kilfinane, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Limerick
Price Range: £25 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyhoura Luxury Hostel is nestled in the Ballyhoura Mountains at the foot of the Galtees. We are in the town of Kilfinane, the highest townland in Limerick, with many pubs, shops and restaurant just a stroll up the street. The Hostel is ideally located as a base from which to explore Munster and south Leinster. The Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty castle, The Rock of Cashel, Lough Gur, Cork and Limerick cities and many other places of interest are within short driving distances. Our Luxury hostel offers the height of comfort with hotel grade mattresses on solid hardwood beds, all dressed with 100% Egyptian cotton linen. Numerous high powered showers and a sauna give you the opportunity to really relax after a day exploring the area or after being engaged in one of the numerous activities on our doorstep. The immediate area offers many different hikes/mountain walks, mountain biking, horse-riding, claypigeon/air rifle shooting, archery, indoor wall climbing, abseiling and kayaking/canoeing. As we are in such an activity hub, the hostel has been purposely built to meet the needs of the outdoor pursuits enthusiasts with bike lock up, bike wash area, purpose built drying room and of course the sauna. Many weary travellers enjoy relaxing by our big open fire on our large comfy couches reading a book, watching T.V., or simply unwinding to the sound of the crackle of the fire. Those who are less weary and more energetic always enjoy an evening in one of our many pubs, where the locals are friendly and the pints are flowing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballyhoura Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing