We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hostel in Mountain Bike Country”
Review of Ballyhoura Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballyhoura Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here with a small group of friends back in July. We were looking for somewhere to stay close to the Ballyhoura Bike Trails and the Hostel couldn't have been in a better location. It's only 5 minutes from the Trails and the town itself is a hidden gem. The place was spotless and the bunk beds were very comfortable (Not the small rickety ones you often find in Irish hostels). There's also a great lounge area with a big open fire - A great place to recuperate after 17k on the bike or a night out in O'Céilleachair's pub. I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ConorMinogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks Conor for your review and we remember that was a good fun weekend, with lots of activities done. I'm sure we'll see you again down here in Ballyhoura and you'll be very welcome! Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The mountain bike experience and other guests made the trip absolutely great. The hostel is in a small town Kilkinnane where the townspeople greet each other on a first name/ nickname basis. The kitchen was very organized and well-maintained with everything one would need. There is a Centra in the town for food. We watched the hurling Limerick vs. Kilkenny game in the lounge. The bus from Limerick doesn't run on Sunday, but otherwise is convenient for travel and besides staying Sunday at this great hostel is well worth the stay.

Thanks Seamus and Teresa

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks Michael for your review! That was a good weekend and we had a lovely bunch of people staying, the only bad point was Limerick losing the match!! Hope you're settled back home and come visit us if you ever return to Ireland. Kind regards, Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a fantastic time at this great hostel. Stayed here to go mountainbiking with a gang of friends and had an absolute blast. Teresa and Seamus were about as hospitable as you could hope for and were great fun to hang out with. The rooms were in perfect condition and the food was great. Can't think of much more that you'd want out of a hostel. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M_Roddy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed yourself and we really had a great time when you and your friends were down here with us. Hope to see you again, kind regards, Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hostel has to be seen to be believed - defo the best I have ever stayed in and describing it as a 'hostel' does not do it justice. Sauna, Lounge (with Sky Sports and a fireplace!), comfy beds, great showers, great kitchen, super hosts... I could go on. Set up perfectly for biking with secure lock up, bike washing facilities and a drying room but also perfect for anyone that fancies a walk in the hills. Defo going back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DominicFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks so much for that great review and we hope to see you again soon. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay here in July 2014. The location is idyllic and there is so much to do on the doorstep. The hostel accommodation itself can only be described as luxurious, comfortable and impeccably clean and we were made feel completely at home during our stay. I look forward to my next stay here, as two days were simply not enough and cannot thank Seamus and Teresa enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieTherese043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to have you down here again and that you will have more time the next time to enjoy yourself. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Spent a weekend in July at Ballyhoura hostel with a group of friends. Being from Limerick city, I could not believe this hidden gem was in my own county. The best hosts you could ask for. Friendly, helpful and constantly went out of their way to ensure we had the best of times. Cool, stylish wooden furniture, cleanest hostel ever been to, great showers, comfiest bed and of the course the Fußall table !!
Went biking, clay pigeon shooting and hit the pubs of Kilfinane. Looking forward to my next stay and would recommend to anyone. Thanks Seamus and Teresa:-)

Room Tip: Stayed in 14bed dorm and had the best of sleeps so would not worry, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed your time here with us so much. The foosball table is still going well, I'm even getting better at it myself! Hope to see you here again sometime, it was a pleasure to have you!. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend mountain biking at Ballyhoura. Very spacious, clean and tidy accommodation with secure bicycle storage and off street parking. Centrally located so just a very short walk to the supermarket and pubs. This is an excellent facility if you are taking part in outdoor activities in the area.
Lloyd

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyhouraHostel, Front Office Manager at Ballyhoura Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you in Ballyhoura Hostel again sometime. Kind regards, Teresa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
22 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#16 of 20 in Limerick
494 reviews
22.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,729 reviews
22.2 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
911 reviews
24.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
21.7 mi away
Travelodge Limerick Castletroy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyhoura Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyhoura Hostel

Address: West End | Kilfinane, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Limerick
Price Range: £25 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyhoura Luxury Hostel is a multi award winning 5 star hostel located in the picturesque mountain village of Kilfinane, Co. Limerick, with several pubs, shop and restaurant just a stroll up the street. This 43 bed luxury hostel is clean, comfortable, practical and homely. We have a fully equipped self-catering kitchen, a large dining room and a lovely cosy sitting room with big comfy couches by an open fire. The immediate area offers many different activities such as hikes/hill walks, mountain biking, horse trekking, clay pigeon/air rifle shooting and archery. The Hostel is ideally located as a base from which to explore Munster and south Leinster. The Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty castle, The Rock of Cashel, Lough Gur, Cork and Limerick cities and many other places of interest are within short driving distances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballyhoura Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing