We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and lovely”
Review of Sash Restaurant

Sash Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 325 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$56
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The charming restaurant on the first floor of No. 1 Pery Square is called Sash, referring to that most distinctive feature of these magnificent Georgian houses, the sash window. The name Sash is also, maybe, a nod to the dressing-up appeal of going out to dinner somewhere special! Step into this stylish space through a quirky sash window-shaped door, into a restaurant with views of the surrounding Georgian streetscape, a lovely room with a menu that is quietly confident and traditional, but with the same contemporary twist to be found throughout all of No. 1 Pery Square. Focusing on home cooking with an extra layer of sophistication, the menu at Sash is almost like country house food in the city - showcasing simple but elegant dishes, both classic and contemporary, using old-school, time-proven techniques. Ingredients used are local, seasonal, and reflective of a menu that would have been familiar in the house at the time it was built, recognisable to those original Georgians, with the addition of herbs and leaves grown in No. 1 Pery Square's own kitchen gardens where possible. Sash also has a carefully selected wine list featuring a collection of unique boutique producers & classic selections, ranging from casual wines for relaxed evenings, to rare and hard to find bottles. Sash reflects the attributes of its home in No. 1 Pery Square - being elegant, thoughtful, Irish, historic, with an extra layer of sophistication and character. Sash is a little beacon of old-fashioned conviviality - cosy, not grand, relaxed, not posh - and serving proper food to share and enjoy.
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This place is so beautifully and understatedly elegant, and yet accommodating and unpretentious, I ate breakfast and dinner there during my recent one-night stay at the attached hotel, 1 Pery Square. The chef tried an amuse bouche of a frothy corn soup; very good and interesting, buttery, sweet, smooth and spicy, all at once. The chef is clearly innovative and clever, and should be encouraged. Service was perfect. Nothing about this restaurant disappointed. The restaurant uses herbs and vegetables they grow themselves outside in the hotel grounds (very clever use of a small space, one I think should be used by more restaurants across the world). If you get a chance to eat there during a warm month, go outside and view their little garden; it's inspiring for the home chef, it seems to me, given that they're growing herbs in boxes anyone could replicate if they chose.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Local, in season ingredients used to put together a wonderful meal. The staff were attentive without being overbearing, the wine was recommended by our waiter and was a great choice.

Thank cork_traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review . We are just heading into our new harvest menu so maybe you can visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Everything was fabulous - the flavour and selection of the food, and the wines were a perfect fit with the lovely food. Ate upstairs in the Brasserie and downstairs as well - both we amazing, and breakfast was a crowd pleaser!

Thank andreaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Delighted your enjoyed your meals with us so much, hope you can make it back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We ate here last night. We had a voucher thank god we didnt pay for it ourselves.

Girl in reception was lovely and very attentive. Went out of her way giving directions to a couple.

As for dining area, what hit me was the noise when we first entered as the room is quite small with tables close beside each other. We were place directly beside another couple in middle of room whilst there were plenty of vacant tables nearer the inside. Far too close in proximity to our neighbours.

My wine was vile, it had been open a while in my opinion and quite warm.

Starter was delicious. Would have liked chutney or something to accompany chicken liver parfait aswel as the pineapple. Duck was only ok in partners opinion.

Main course. Poor selection. He ordered steak and i the chicken. Steak was dry and quite tasteless. He put salt on it which he never does. My chicken was small with tiny grratin potatoes and a godawful ratatouille which overpowered and destroyed an already flavourlacking gratin. Tomato ratatouille which tasted solely of paprika or some heady spice.
No veg to accompany main. You had to pay extra which was ridiculous. I didnt realise until our waiter informed us. Its just tight in my opinion.

Dessert was nice. Again not a great choice. Nothing amazing. We both had creme brulee, the rhubarb was a lovely addition.

Cup of tea was the highlight unfortunately.

Waiter were nice, i did find one a litte loud and brash, i thought this was a fine dining restaurant.
I have worked in restaurants before and was surprised at how flat the brasserie one fell. Id like to show them what a real ratatouille tastes like.
We wont be returning im afraid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mullki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

I am disapointed to hear you were mislead on the type of restaurant we are, no we are not fine dining , just simple good quality, Irish Brasserie food with french influences. I do apologise that your chicken dish was not up to scratch, its not one of my favourites but we have been getting great feedback on the dish from other guests. I hope you will re think and give us another chance to win you over on our food. Glad you enjoyed dinner otherwise and thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great and friendly staff, reasonably priced and tasty food. All combine to make this a great establishment.100% satisfaction.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank polbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your evening, hope you can stay next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sash Restaurant also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Sash Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing