We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem”

The Curragower Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 304 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great atmosphere, beautiful pints, good attentive staff, live music week nights, great view of the river...also have decent hearty bar food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellechim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    201
    48
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing...”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Although this is very competitively priced, had a lovely casual atmosphere and the service was quick and good... the food was simply disappointing.

I really wanted to sample some scrummy Irish mussels and thought a seafood bar would be the place to do it but (and I don't know whether this was down to the garlic butter rather than having a traditional white wine sauce) they smelled like wet dog when they arrived in front of me. Really not appealing. Also, they were small and shrivelled - not juicy and large as I'd expected.

My fiance had the mixed basket, which I ended up sampling as I could only stomach half the mussels as I wanted to remain open minded. The calamari was really chewy and the scampi was nothing to rave home about (more like you'd expect from the supermarket). There were LOADS of chips though...

This place received rave reviews in the guide, we were using, and the place was full when we were there so maybe we were just really unlucky. However, I left disappointed and wouldn't make any effort to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Gertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere, great prices and great friendly staff. Lovely location on the banks of the Shannon. Highly recommend this spot for a casual get together.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing .....”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A return visit to the Curragower did not live up to the expectations experienced on an earlier visit and what let it down for me was their 'Mixed Basket' meal. While my companions waxed lyrically about their food, mine was a disappointment.

My basket consisted of six scampi (out of a packet??), six cocktail sausages, all deep fried to a points of being 'crisped' to a cinder, six of the thinnest calamari rings I've ever seen, one white and one black pudding ring, halved all sitting on enough pale chips for three people. No sign of the crushed black pepper chips! Was that the chef was off that evening? It was a poor representation of what I know this eatery can produce.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy, warm and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

One of the best seafood chowders I have ever had. The mixed seafood/sausages/chips basket is huge and perfect for sharing.

There is such a cosy atmosphere in there. It's full of locals and the staff is extremely nice and friendly.

Highly recommended if you are in Limerick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Curragower Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The Curragower Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing