We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy night in Limerick”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of George's Bar & Kitchen - CLOSED

George's Bar & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The ‘gBK’ (George Bar & Kitchen) provides a refreshing and unique dining experience for the city. Our lunch and dinner menus offer something for everyone in a relaxed environment. All our dishes are cooked to order and freshly prepared in house by our extremely talented kitchen team. All our food is locally sourced ensuring freshness to the table for all diners.Bridging the gap between a casual café and a formal restaurant, the gBK has grown in popularity in Limerick city since opening in 2006.The gBK opens its doors daily from 7.00am to the wonderful smells of full Irish breakfast & freshly ground coffee, you can have a stack of toast & jam or a healthy bowl of porridge or why not a warm muffin ‘to-go’ with your freshly brewed tea or coffee to set you up for the day ahead.Check out our lunch menu which is available 12.30pm -3.30pm daily. The gBK restaurant offers great food and drinks at affordable prices in an informal, pleasant atmosphere in the heart of Limerick city.Here in the gBK you can sample some of the best dishes in Limerick, from our locally sourced Sirloin Steaks, succulent Sea-bass, our specially stone-baked pizzas to an Irish Stew from our Chefs’ own family recipe. This Boutique Hotel Limerickis the ideal location for dining in Limerick.What you will find is a very relaxed and informal approach to dining in style. The restaurant area is beautifully welcoming to all with open arms. Whether you are looking for an intimate setting, somewhere to entertain work colleagues or simply dining out with your friends, George has it all with window tables to watch the world go by or secluded booths for true romantics. “It’s such things that keep people coming back time after time” says the well established and friendly George team.Accompanied by a small but beautiful selection of new World wines there is always something to suit every taste & budget.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rainy night in Limerick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were staying at the hotel and it was pouring outside so we stayed in and dined in the hotel. It was grand. Very comfortable and quiet. The waitress was excellent. She was very friendly and helpful to us in choosing our dinners. My husband had lamb and I had a marguerita pizza. Very good food with wonderful wine. We watched the locals running through the raindrops from the very large window we were seated by,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at George's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    29
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Delicious food. Reasonable price. Very happy staff. Highly recommend this restaurant whether you are staying in the hotel or not,.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nano186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at George's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at the gBK Restaurant in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The gBK Restaurant in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Tony Tynne
Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The entire meal - starters, mains, desert - was delicious, and the finest meal I've had out in a while. Very generous portions. Staff were very attentive and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CiaranBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, Manager at George's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at the gBK Restaurant in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The gBK Restaurant in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Tony Tynne
Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Each time we have eaten in here, it has been great. Dinner and breakfast are both excellent and good value No complaints keep up the good work

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank helenlaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, Manager at George's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at the gBK Restaurant in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The gBK Restaurant in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Tony Tynne
Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A great restaurant - Early Bird good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I was attracted by the board outside - €19.95 for steak and a pint.

When I went up I was seated by the window overlooking the main street.

The offer seemed to have changed to two courses for €19.95 and no drink.

No matter, as it still offered good value.

My starter of bruschetta was tasty and the chicken in Diane sauce was beautiful.

Service was good, although it was pretty quiet at 5pm.

Overall, lovely food quality and ambience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kes_Jules_Jaik_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at George's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing