We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smithwick's on tap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent one night in Limerick on my way back from a deployment in the middle east. The Pier Hotel was in a great location on the river and within walking distance to numerous pubs and clubs. The hotel staff was very accommodating and made every effort to insure our stay was pleasant. The bar connected to the lobby serves an amazing seafood chowder and it is complemented well with the Smithwick's on tap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autigers5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed there last Nov as part of a christmas party group...I did write a review then but it didn't go through for some reason.....The staff could not do any more for us...we had the best rooms and a fab meal.....great music and we had a brilliant night......I have no complaints whatsoever...Can't wait to stay in this hotel again.......

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, just ask when you book.....they are very accomodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm just back from a night in Limerick with the girls. If you're going to Limerick on a shopping trip or just a night out with the girls/lads, I would highly recommend The Pier Hotel.

The rooms have no frills but are very clean and very reasonably priced but what brought me back to this hotel again was the service. The staff are just lovely. From the time I booked the room until I checked out it was a pleasure to deal with them!

My next night out in Limerick I will certainly be back to the Pier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

we stayed at this hotel 10th may,when we checked in we noticed how friendly staff were two females and one male we inquired about things to do and they were so helpfull one of them came out to the door with us to direct us to an area we were looking for later when we came back to park our car a staff member called christine was so nice and helpful also a chineise guy working in the bar was extreamely friendly.room was really clean and cosy and for a hotel in the city you could here no noise from the street even though we were on the first floor we will definately stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The attitude of the hotel management is terrible.
After booking a room, the hotel charged my bank account with €100. When we arrived to the hotel, the transaction was denied so upon checking out, we paid for the room. After a week later, I learned from the bank that the €100 was taken by the hotel.
When I requested a refund from the hotel, they did not answer my mails. I could reach the hotel only through the booking website; two weeks after we spent a night in the hotel, they made up that the room was smoked in (well, it is absurd because we are non-smokers!!!) and they do not wish to refund the money.
So should we think about this €100 as stolen by the hotel???

Shame on you Pier Hotel!

By the way, the room smelled like history, it was nothing like the photos.The room was not cleaned properly.
I usually fell asleep quite easily, but in this place it was impossible. The windows let the noise of the street in, the walls are paper thin and I could hear everything from the neighbour room where a drunk couple was shouting, fighting and hitting the furniture or each other...

In the morning, the waitress wanted to charge us for the breakfast but it was included in the room price so we asked her to double-check...
This place is the total opposite of Irish hospitality. From the first moment to the last, we just did not feel welcomed.

We have travelled all over Europe, and this is the first hotel we have to complain about.

Room Tip: Never ever Limerick again!!! If you decide to stay at this hotel, check your bank account after boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at The Pier Hotel, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are surprised to hear of your complaint in light of the fact that we refunded you the €100.00. We have a policy which all guests accept on checking in, that if a guest decides to smoke in the room, a charge of €100 will be incurred, as the room will be out of use understandably until the smell of smoke is removed. Our housekeeping team obviously reported that the room you stayed in had been smoked in. While we accept this may have been a mistake on their part, they are vigilant in their checks.

In relation to the noise, we are a city center hotel and therefore the noise from the street is outside our control. The noise from other rooms is something we would of endeavoured to abate had you notified the reception of your issue.

Kind regards

Kasia Mrozowska, Front Office Manager, The Pier Hotel, Limerick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Budget hotel. Swapped for a river view room. Shoud have stayed with first choice. More updated room. Central location. No frills? Bar can be noisy if you have a room above it however by the time I turned in there was no issue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmkjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with good deal b&b .pleased with underground secure carpark with lift to lobby and rooms.could relax without worrying about hordes of knife weilding car thieves...joke!
Hotel super central.Staff pleasant.Twin room nice with desk ,armchairs and tea/coffee stuff.Nice to have bar on site but penty of great ones nearby too.Load of food options nearby too...
Cooked breakfast was very good.Free papers..Nice and warm...
A well run hotel..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordeauxHerzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#16 of 20 in Limerick
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £48 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing