We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for city centre hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value for city centre hotel.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel has become our first choice when visiting Limerick. The location is fantastic, just off O Connell street with shops and restaurants. It is walking distance/5 min taxi spin to the train station, Thomond Park and to King Johns Castle. The rooms are a little small but this isnt a problem: they are clean, comfortable,fresh towels, shower gels supplied etc and the front rooms have lovely views over the river and King Johns Castle. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is delicious and made to order. Can get cereals, a full irish or both. Great bar food as well for lunch: sandwiches, wraps etc and very well priced! Left luggage room is secure to leave bags for a while.

However, Can be very noisy at night if there are groups of people returning late from nights out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    172
    139
    54
    35
See reviews for
73
208
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here a weekend getaway with my fiance. . Really easy to find the hotel.. parking is very limited but it is secure. Check in was quick which was great.. got the oue room and was very disappointed with the size of it.. should be more of a closet..
good points.
Room was clean
Had good telly.

Bad points
old mattress
Lack of hot water.
very warm rooms as no street facing window.

Overall
Great location for a cheap stay but I wouldnt stay here for more then 1 night again.
Thw staff were very frindly.
didnt like one member of bar staff who laughed in my face when I asked for a drink ye didnt have and just walked away. Fould this very rude.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baker100692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel stands out for the location and the value. The rooms were fine, but nothing too memorable and a bit on the small side. The bathroom was cramped with no counter space. But, everything was within easy walking distance, and the staff were wonderfully helpful and seemed genuinely interested in our trip and making sure we were comfortable during our stay.

One note: you'll need to insert your room key in the card reader near the door, and leave it there, to get any kind of electrical flow in the room ... that took a while to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Katarzyna was very helpful checking us in and directing me to the underground parking on the back of the building. This hotel is downtown next to the Shannon river and within walking distance of King John's Castle and other historic sites. Also lots of shopping venues on the streets in this area. We took a hop on hop off tour of the city from the Tourist centre (nearby) and a bus tour from the same place to the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was excellent and the breakfast was superb. Served to your table. The bar next door had excellent pub food and excellent service. We really enjoyed our stay in Limerick.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent one night in Limerick on my way back from a deployment in the middle east. The Pier Hotel was in a great location on the river and within walking distance to numerous pubs and clubs. The hotel staff was very accommodating and made every effort to insure our stay was pleasant. The bar connected to the lobby serves an amazing seafood chowder and it is complemented well with the Smithwick's on tap.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autigers5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed there last Nov as part of a christmas party group...I did write a review then but it didn't go through for some reason.....The staff could not do any more for us...we had the best rooms and a fab meal.....great music and we had a brilliant night......I have no complaints whatsoever...Can't wait to stay in this hotel again.......

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, just ask when you book.....they are very accomodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm just back from a night in Limerick with the girls. If you're going to Limerick on a shopping trip or just a night out with the girls/lads, I would highly recommend The Pier Hotel.

The rooms have no frills but are very clean and very reasonably priced but what brought me back to this hotel again was the service. The staff are just lovely. From the time I booked the room until I checked out it was a pleasure to deal with them!

My next night out in Limerick I will certainly be back to the Pier.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Property: The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing