We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Limerick with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Limerick with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I am staying at the Limerick hotel tonight and wanted to take a second to write a review. I came to Ireland with my two kids and myself. We got about 3 hours of sleep on the plane on a red eye. Landed at 8 am and went straight to sight seeing. By the time we got to Limerick we were exhausted. Christine at the front desk was very kind and checked us in quickly. There was no available parking left in the hotels lot so we were going to have to park at another lot and walk back, which was ok with me. But by the time we were going to move out car she had already moved hers so we could have her space since it was easier and she could see we were tired.
I didn't expect her do do that and I love staying at hotels where they go above and beyond when they don't have to. We were hungry and she suggested the restaurant that is attached. The food was good and the staff there were also kind.
The hotel itself is cute. The rooms are nice, cute and clean.
All of this and the price was very affordable!
I would stay here again and would highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NataleeK1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    166
    137
    53
    35
See reviews for
73
203
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great hotel in the centre of Limerick alongside the Shannon. Close to shops and historical sites with excellent road links for touring.. Staff friendly and helpful. Price very reasonable. I can find nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: You have to pay €15 extra per room per night if you want a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Although being disappointed on arrival to find the car park full, the room was clean and tidy with a nice riverside view but on the small side. Dinner in the pub downstairs provided reasonable bar food while we found the breakfast below average. All in all you get what you pay for - clean, tidy, little small but inexpensive.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms offer a nice outlook but traffic noise is an issue in peak times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsLot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was there with 17 girls for a hen this weekend. Had a lovely experience. Staff were wonderful, food was great and plenty of it. Most of our rooms were fine but some were a bit small and were too warm. Its a great location also. Will definitely be recommending it and staying there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

As regular visitors to Limerick, this was the first time we had stayed at the Pier Hotel, though some years ago we stayed at its predecessor, The Sarsfield Bridge Hotel.

The staff could not be faulted; they were welcoming, friendly and immensely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent - and my wife, a vegetarian, much appreciated the first- rate veggie breakfast. The breakfast-room/restaurant was spacious and the ambience in the bar was all you would expect from a bar in Munster!!

Our room and bathroom were well-equipped and out bed was wonderfully comfortable. Having stayed in one or two hotels with truly lumpy mattresses a comfortable bed makes all the difference, and this was very comfortable and relaxing! Would we stay there again? We most certainly would!

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the Shannon or even the Sarsfield Road is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here last weekend with my boyfriend. Location was perfect staff were so nice all weekend especially a blonde girl in the bar I never got her name but she was so helpful. The food especially the stir fry was amazing. We watched the world cup in the bar and it was so comfortable. Thanks for a great stay and we will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

First, our room was scorching hot!! All night and all day! There was no relief no matter how much the window was cracked. We had to sleep completely nude to find some sort of cooling. In the morning, someone I'm assuming was a staff member, opened our door and walked into our room!! He did not knock, he just walked in! I did not have my glasses on so I do not know what this person looked like or if he saw anything once he made it around the door. But needless to say, I was pissed! It took my husband and I for quite the rude wake up. He shut the door, saying, "Sorry!" Then I heard him one door over, doing it again to the next person!! If this is the housekeeping staff, what kind of place are they running here?! Shouldn't they at least knock first and say "Housekeeping" before barging into someones room at 7:00 in the morning!? Very rude and very embarrassing.

Not to mention, when we came in after 10:00 the night before, we were confronted at the front door by a man with a clip board asking us what room we were in. Why do they need to know that?

Just an all around rude experience. Which is unfortunate for such a good location.

Room Tip: Lock your doors tightly and put out a do not disturb sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#17 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Property: The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing