We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magnificent Home and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenview Lodge

The unique location of Glenview Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The unique location of Glenview Lodge
Glenview Lodge Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The unique location of Glenview Lodge
Glenview Lodge
Living Room
kitchen
Double  Bedroom
Living Room Fire
Glenview Lodge
view from front gardens
Summer Furze
Hurling match
view from gardens
View from entrance drive
corridor and bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom
Irish Coffee Demo at Glenview Lodge
Homemade scones
Kitchen Dresser
Cliffs of Moher.A great day trip.
Glenview Lodge Garden
Irish Stew at Glenview Lodge
Table Tennis
Bunratty Castle one hours drive
Children are very welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
pjdowd
Carmel Valley
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Home and location”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My second stay in Glenview. I cannot speak too highly of the facility and the owners, Sean and Monica. We stayed for two week over Christmas and New Years. The farmhouse is atop a hill that overlooks an immense view of rolling hills and farmlands. It is more than 100 m off the road and extremely private with no approximate neighbors. It is like having your own farm home. The vistas are breathtaking. Knowing that we would spend Christmas there Monica had decorated the house with a Christmas tree for us as well as numerous seasonal decorations that made the home feel festive. Also, on the table were fresh baked Irish Brown Bread, some slices of Christmas Cake and a Christmas Pudding prepared to be cooked. Additionally, as we wanted to host a gathering of local family, Monica went out of her way to make sure we had enough, cooking utensils, service plates and all that we needed or requested to prepare dinner for the family. They could not have been more accommodating. Sean is a great source for the history of the area and an enthusiastic supporter of the Broadford-Ahsford Walking trails. We do recommend a trek along one of the several trails. (Waterproof boots and rain pants and jacket recommended- it is Ireland after all so expect soft weather)

We cannot wait to return to our Glenview Lodge home. For it does feel like home while you are there thanks to the gracious hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, historic facility, magnificent vistas, privacy
Liked least: Internet speed was very slow and wireless service (Vodaphone) was weak and only available at the upper gate to the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Toowoomba
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We recently stayed at Glenview Lodge for 3 nights. It was the perfect start to our trip in Ireland. Sean provided helpful directions from Dublin and where to collect the key and both Sean and Monica were very welcoming on our arrival.
The house was clean and comfortable and a welcome breakfast package was provided. We elected to have the Irish Experience with the Irish Stew which was just amazing. as was the dessert of pavlova. We were very lucky with the weather, though still managers to enjoy the fireplace.
Sean willingly provided us with suggestions for day trips. It is a great base to see sights such as The Ring of Kerry, The Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty Castle, Limerick, Killarney and more. It is the perfect place for a short break. There a several villages within a 20-30 min drive if you want to eat out.
The small gifts from Sean and Monica when we left were a lovely gesture that just topped of the whole experience. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness, quality of accommodation and Monica's cooking
Liked least: Nothing really though maybe distance to dining options if you wanted to eat out and have a drink
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
“Lovely little house, surrounded by nature in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Glenview Lodge for three nights in September. It was a very nice experience, which we would happily repeat. We were greeted by Sean, who showed us the house and its amenities. It is a small farmhouse that has been modernized for comfort, while still maintaining the charm of an old house. It is well provisioned with dishes, cooking utensils etc. We didn't find that we were lacking a thing. We did a couple of day trips to Dingle, Ballybunion and Adare. Sean gave us a local history lesson and demonstrated how to make Irish coffee, and Monica gave us homemade chocolates. We felt welcome and right at home. Wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: beautiful country setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishD198...
Dedham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Oustanding Country-side Mother-Daughter Stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were two mothers and two teenage girls staying at Glenview Lodge. We were all happy in the lovely country setting. The house overall had all that we needed -- the kitchen was well supplied (complete with breakfast, including homemade bread, for the day of our arrival); there was WIFI; and the rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. We loved waking up to the sound of birds chirping and watching the cows come home in a neighboring field. We were within an hour or so drive of all that we wanted to see and even spent one day simply exploring the local walking trails near the house. We had at least one question a day for Monica and Sean and they were always ready with quick and thorough advice. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for an authentic stay in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and simplicity of the house
Liked least: Nothing -- it was great
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBelle...
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I traveled with my wife, my mother and my two 20 something nieces to Ireland. We stayed at Glenview lodge and absolutely loved it. Sean and Monica were very nice and helpful people. We all would love to go back some time soon. We enjoyed being in the Irish countryside waking up to birds chirping and morning dew on the grass. It is a very peaceful special place. The lodge is very well taken care of and very comfortable. We were within an hour of almost everything and it was easy to get to the main roads out of Broadford. I love Glenview lodge and loved Monica and Sean as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peacful location
Liked least: Driving on Irish back country roads, Nerve racking for a midwesterner.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O
Bocholt, Germany
1 review
“Excellent hosts”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Thanks again Monica and Seán for your hospitality. We stayed over Christmas and were spoilt with goodies like home-made Christmas pudding and chocolates. Very convenient location for getting to know the south-west of Ireland. The house itself has a wonderful Irish charm about it and if walls could talk, there would certainly be a tale or two to tell. We will definitely be recommending you further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooka_McP...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Glenview Lodge Has It All”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Glenview Lodge twice: in June 2011 and December 2013. Thus, we experienced days around the summer solistice when it remains light till 11:00 pm, and winter days when the sun didn't rise much above the horizon and disappeared altogether at about 4:00. We are happy to say that Glenview Lodge is the perfect venue, be it deep winter or high summer (and I expect at all times in between). Our young children loved roaming the nearby hills and fields during the endless summer evenings and we all enjoyed nesting around the peat fire when the winter wind whistled down Gleann na gCapall from Knocktoosh.

The property itself is exactly as advertised: a traditional Munster farmhouse (it has been in the family since the 1680s), tastefully modernized to meet 21st century expectations of comfort. The house is cosy and snug in December, bright and airy in June. The kitchen is fully equipped for a self-catering family holiday -- our kids were up every morning to help cook breakfast, something that doesn't happen much at home! Amenities include two bathrooms (plus a downstairs toilet), central heating, dishwasher, and a washer and dryer. The farm outbuildings have been preserved faithfully, though they are not now in use. In summer, the garden and orchard are delightful. The hilltop driveway offers spectacular views down Gleann na gCapall ("Glen of the Horse") and over the West Limerick hills.

The location cannot be beaten -- perfectly quiet and off the beaten track but within 10 miles of the N20 (Limerick-Cork) and N21 (Limerick-Kerry) highways. There are many local walking trails and sites of historical interest, and most parts of Counties Limerick, Cork and Kerry are within an hour's drive. There are a few pubs and small shops in Broadford village and an excellent supermarket (Meaney's Centra) in nearby Dromcollogher.

Finally, a word about Sean and Monica. They are the perfect hosts. They overlook no detail toward making you comfortable (our "welcome package" in late December included delicious, home-made traditional Christmas cake). They are discreetly on hand if needed, but otherwise do not intrude on your stay. The tasteful furnishings and spotless cleanliness of the farmhouse reflect their ethos. We are very happy to recommend Glenview Lodge for your vacation too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislke.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing