We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Terrible. An absolute dump! Worst hotel in Ireland.”
Review of Railway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limerick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railway Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Terrible. An absolute dump! Worst hotel in Ireland.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The single worst place I have ever stayed. Cannot begin to imagine why anyone would enjoy staying here. If it was possible i would give it a negative rating out of 5 it really was that terrible.

Hard to believe that anyone who gave this hotel a good review are not in some way connected with the hotel as it was simply that bad.

The number one complaint that I have about this hotel was that the rooms advertised in the pictures displayed were no where near comparable to the dump of a room myself and my girlfriend received upon our arrival. The room we received was to be put it simply abysmal. The room was cramped, dirty and has not been refurbished in the last 30 years. The only clean and professional thing associated with this hotel is the misleading pictures posted on hotels site,

In addition to this, the walls were paper thin. We could literally hear everything, EVERYTHING, that was going on in the other rooms. Not just the ones on our own floor but also the ones on the floor above us.

The room was also notable dusty and dirty. There was holes in the wall as well as well a pipe sticking out of the cracked tiles in what was our dingy bathroom. The shower had not been cleaned prior to our visit and as a result the shower floor was covered in hairs from our previous visit.

To mention the staff, they were quite rude and seemed quite un-interested in assisting guests throughout our stay which was most disappointing.

The attached photos show an accurate picture of what the rooms actually look like. not the misleading ones displayed on the hotels own site.

To sum it all up, this really was an appalling stay and I would strongly discourage anyone from considering to stay here.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here. There are not any good rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheHappyCamperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    18
    13
    21
See reviews for
11
15
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We took the bus to Limerick from Athlone as this was the beginning of my family. The relations of my mother’s side all came from here. So we spent the day looking through various Family History information which was organised from home. Once that was out of the way we did an Open Bus tour and because it was jolly cold there was only 3 Australians so we had a fantastic trip.

We had to catch the bus back to Athlone so we stopped in to have a bite to eat and get warm at the Railway Hotel. We had a couple of Irish Coffees to warm us up and my hubby had a Guinness or 3. One of the best things was they had a warm hotel and also a fire place and a couple of the locals were sitting around it. We ended up having a plate of soup and the only good thing was that it was warm but it came straight out of a can. We all had a laugh and had another Irish Coffee and a Guinness to make sure the trip back to Athlone would be warm.

Probably not a place we would usually go into but needs must! Because it was so very cold and wet on this day the camera did not even venture out!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keza_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Craigavon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a one night stay in a double ensuite room with breakfast and that was what we got! Service was excellent, room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious and we were told not to rush down for it. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Parking was free and secure. The hotel was across the road from the bus depot and the hotel was a few minutes walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabydollVonHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I last stayed here a few years ago , so knew it was "spit and sawdust" , but was clean and the staff were friendly and the breakfast good .
Sadly it is no longer clean .
It is interesting to note that the last entry in the guest comment book was over a year ago !!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank athlonecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Positives: Great location for bus station and off road parking.

Negatives: very noisy both inside and out side.
We had a used tea bag in the "clean cups" that had been there a while..
Breakfast entailed a dead fly in my bowl of cereal that was served to me.
The place is dated which could be lovely, but it isn't clean, infact its filthy, smokey rooms, dust all over the phone sticky carpets, dirty cups in the room.. a bottle of bleach and curtains that fit would go a long way.. Staff weren't very helpful and a bit grumpy, a health hazard to be perfectly honest... Will not being staying there ever again..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulips1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We've stated before and knew it was a convenient situation but standards have dropped. It's an old building and the wiring looks old, people were smoking in their rooms and all the fire doors were jammed open. An accident waiting to happen. noise from the station at the front And from machinery at the back.The decor is very tired and yet the beds were comfortable and clean . However the cups and glasses in the room were dirty and one had used tea bags in. The showers looked grimey. The cooked breakfast was good I'm told but the cereal had dead flies in and the scone was warmed on a microwave and very soggy. The waitress was kindly and quick service but dismissive of the flies- 'must have been in the packet' and ' a lot around so may have just flown in'
glad to leave and unlikely to return. Secure parking is a bonus as is proximity to station but hard to stomach dead flies , safety issues and grime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This old hotel is very well run with friendly and efficient staff. It is very traditional with a bar and restaurant which are obviously popular with non residents. Its proximity to the railway and bus station make it a very convenient place to stay. My room was clean and nice with quite a big bathroom. It had TV and tea and coffee making facility. The breakfast was good and overall I thought it excelent value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nice and bright but there is some noise from traffic, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holdegarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#15 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#17 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Property: Railway Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Hotel was originally built in 1871 as an old coaching inn, this family run hotel has developed over the years into a thriving 30-bedroom city centre hotel. Situated opposite the rail and bus station and less than five minutes walk from the centre of Limerick makes it the perfect stopping place for both businessman and tourist alike. With its warm hospitality, good food and personal attention from the Collins family and their staff, your requirements will be fulfilled to ensure each stay is as pleasant and as comfortable as the last.All rooms are tastefully furnished and have tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone and multi-channel television. The Railway Bar is the perfect spot to relax in the local atmosphere whether it be for a pint of stout or a cup of coffee. Food served all day long.Private car parking to the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing