We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed with the Railway Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limerick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railway Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not too impressed with the Railway Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

We stayed at the Railway Hotel in Limerick in July this year. The rooms, even the non-smoking ones, stank of cigarettes and they all had ashtrays in them. I commented to the managment who felt they had no control over people smoking in their rooms. THe food was of poor quality also, the scrambled egg was swimming in water, to the point of it slopping over the side of the plate and all other food I tried there was badly cooked.
However, the staff were very nice and kind and it was hard to complain too much. But I won't go back.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The smell and the food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyennePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    18
    13
    21
See reviews for
10
15
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

I stayed here in February. The hotel is adjacent to the train station. Even though it is located in the city I was lucky enough not to hear any noise. I was staing in a room back of the hotel. Will stay again. The owners are also very friendly.

  • Liked — THe hotel was quiet
  • Disliked — I didnt get served breakfast after 12.00am.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frodoireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

keywords to use when summing up this hotel;

Dirty
Tired
Dirty
Shabby
Dirty
Rude staff
Dirty
creaking
Dirty
Stinks of smoke
Dirty
ripped net surtains

Did i mention the fact that this hotel was dirty? the dead slugs in the bathroom made my mind up for me.
Enough said

Stayed February 2003
Helpful?
2 Thank Henri-Flection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2007

I stayed with 3 colleagues, in 4 single rooms. The rooms are absolutely tiny. The decor is decrepit. The hallways creak and groan. Anybody passing by your room will wake you up. The local winos hang around outside and you can hear people leaving from the bar when you are trying to sleep. You can also hear any noises coming from the street outside and the wind whistles in the windows. The only things in its favour, are that the staff are friendly and the breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything but Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Go There
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgan city, louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2006

We got off the bus and thankfully right across the street was the Railway Hotel. It was a holiday time, but there was aroom. It was just what I would think a vintage Irish hotel would be. The food was GREAT, the dining room very nice as was the waitress, and the young lady at the desk could not have been any nicer. A great experience for two Americans who had not been to Ireland before.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traderjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2006

I stayed in Railway hotel three times recently with my daughter. We found the hotel staff to be courteous and helpful during our stay. Breakfast was served promptly and was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to all types of travellers whether couples, families, singles or disabled. As an M.S. sufferer I appreciated being treated as an individual without being patronised.

  • Liked — You got exactly what you paid for
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early to avoid disappointment
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ditzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2006

I spent one night in this hotel. Honestly, I went all evening out of the room walking around Limerick in order to do something better to stay in.
Railway Hotel is dirty, attention is not the best, the place is dark and I thing dangerous (I saw several drunken people around entrance door), and typical breakfast, no more.
Ah, and not so cheap! my b&b the night before was better and cheaper (but in Galway, not in Limerick).

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ijonesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.6 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pery's Hotel
Pery's Hotel
#19 of 20 in Limerick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#17 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Property: Railway Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Hotel was originally built in 1871 as an old coaching inn, this family run hotel has developed over the years into a thriving 30-bedroom city centre hotel. Situated opposite the rail and bus station and less than five minutes walk from the centre of Limerick makes it the perfect stopping place for both businessman and tourist alike. With its warm hospitality, good food and personal attention from the Collins family and their staff, your requirements will be fulfilled to ensure each stay is as pleasant and as comfortable as the last.All rooms are tastefully furnished and have tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone and multi-channel television. The Railway Bar is the perfect spot to relax in the local atmosphere whether it be for a pint of stout or a cup of coffee. Food served all day long.Private car parking to the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing