We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights as I was visiting friends in limerick. Find service to be excellent and should be rated much higher than 3*. The staff we very polite and the services were very efficient indeed. Breakfast was a complete shock, as once I had requested it in my room the breakfast was enormous and had more than enough than you would expect. Hotel cleaning was spotless and I always returned to a clean and tidy room. Bar is very cosy and meals are cheap and very well presented and the portions are more than generous. The location isn't idea if you want to be in city centre, but the buses are regular and their route is very close to the hotel and for €1.90 who can complain? Small shop, ATM, and pizza place are directly opposite to hotel also. I will most definitely stay here again. 10/10

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Joshua W,
thanks for choosing the South Court Hotel as your base while in Limerick.

We work hard to ensure guests have a positive and enjoyable stay and I will share your remarks to with the rest of my team.

We appreciate your high recommendation and hope to welcome you back on your next visit,

Best Wishes,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    190
    110
    39
    30
See reviews for
157
124
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Not a good location to walk to city center and its attractions but we found it to be an excellent location for being able to navigate out of the city for day trips. We used this as our base and rented a car a traveled north west, south west, and east. The restaurants attached to the hotel have excellent food and excellent service and reasonable prices, highly recommended. There are a couple of other restaurants and 2 markets with in easy walking distance (1 market and 3 restaurants directly across the street). All staff was friendly and very helpful. This is not a luxury hotel but we found it to be clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. They do hold a lot of events in the attached conference center that can run late and be very loud. However, this was only an issue for us one night out of 10 and only because we had to be up early for business the next morning and reception was very accommodating in offering us a room away from the conference center for that night. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We were very pleased with accommodations, price, location and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in both the hotel and the restaurants. We will stay again ourselves when in Limerick again.

Room Tip: Life style suite has a mini fridge. Top floor, parking lot side away from confrence center for quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jennifer C,
Thanks for sharing your views and recommending the South Court Hotel.

We endeavour to provide the best possible food and service at favourable prices and we're pleased that everything was to your satisfaction.

We are a popular venue for events and, in the interests of our guests, always endeavour to keep any noise or intrusion to an absolute minimum.

Thanks again for your comprehensive review and recommendation and I hope to welcome you back again sometime soon,

Best Wishes,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed this weekend. It is so difficult to find a hotel that allows 3 children in a family room. This was excellent. Clean bright and airy. Loads of room. Double bed and 3 singles.
Breakfast was a lovely buffet. Even had a pancake maker. The staff were friendly and efficient. Very attentive.
We'll stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank colgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Colgalway,
Thanks for choosing the South Court Hotel.

It's great to hear feedback from families and we're delighted the accommodation and food were to your satisfaction.

I Hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with 2 kids, 3 year old and 3 month old baby. Rooms were clean and tidy and bathroom was adequate. Breakfast was good and has plenty of choice. Had one evening meal which was good value for money. Staff really helpful.

Overall good value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spongebob69Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear SpongeBob69Leeds,
I'm delighted to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay.

I will share your comments with the rest of my team and I hope we can welcome you and yours back to the South Court Hotel on your next visit,

Best Wishes
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. Residents bar staff were very good also. MMA fight room was badly laid out with speaker stands in the middle of isles and nothing stopping people tripping over them...drink was expensive....bathrooms in the common areas weren't the cleanest. Bath tub in our room had safetly notice but shower head was tucked into the corner and it was extremely hard to get in and out safely. Bathroom door was too big for the frame and had to be wedged shut with a round door handle it proved hard to get back out again. Music in the bar was okay but could have been better and created better atmosphere....towels were too small in the bathrooms.... Very nice looby and bar area...breakfast was disorganized and could have done with more direction.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Kate O,
Thanks for sharing your views on the South Court Hotel.

Firstly, I've forwarded your observations regarding the room layout with the organisers of the MMA event. The event had a large attendance and the organisers appreciated the feedback.

With regard to the accommodation, refurbishments of all our 124 bedrooms is ongoing but I will get our team to pay attention to the door frame issue you mention in your post.

Lastly, please accept our apologies for the service at breakfast time. As a consequence, we have revised our staffing and training,

I hope we can welcome you back to the South Court Hotel again,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a week-end break in this lovely hotel and would just like to say that the friendliness of staff was exceptional..As part of our booking we enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in the Cream Room Restaurant and this was the highlight of a very enjoyable break away. The food was excellent and presentation and service top class. We look forward to returning at a future date.

Room Tip: Room at front of hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ijdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Ljdmd,
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in the Cream Room Curry House. I will pass your kind words on to our staff.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the South Court Hotel in the not too distant future,

Warm Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Title says it all. Not somewhere I'd choose to stay again. Staff were helpful when we asked to change to a room that didn't stink of fags. Same staff were not so helpful when we asked four times for towels. The room was OK. A bit tired, but I've slept in worse. Breakfast was badly cooked crap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SlowColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
394 reviews
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,949 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
654 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Property: Great National South Court Hotel
Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#8 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing